HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 07, 2004, 10:42 PM
Peoria, IL
Joined Aug 2004
180 Posts
Beginner Slow Stick AP brushed or brushless?

Photography has been a hobby of mine for some time, but I am new to flying. I got the idea a few months back about doing aerial photography. Initially I did not have any idea what was the best way to get the camera up in the air. My initial thoughts, helium balloons, kites, blimps, just did not look very promising. After doing some internet searches. I finally found rcgoups.com. After only reading a little bit I realized that you guys not only have a wealth of information on this subject. But you also have years of practical experience. Not only that, you are constantly coming up with new ideas and new gadgets to use with AP. I already bought the infrared switch from MX for the Optio s4i.

Once I realized that I needed to fly RC I got a couple of RC simulators to practice on. Then I found a really good buy on an Aerobird Challenger. I got it just to get some air time (also, as I found out it is fun to fly). I have been flying it now about 5 weeks. These last 5 weeks I have been reading the forums to prepare myself to buy and build an AP setup. I am just about ready to purchase everything. Here is what I am looking at:
Camera: Pentax Optio s4i
Radio: Hitec Flash 5x w/ 3 HS81 and Micro 555
Plane: Slow Stick w/ EPS400C-DS/BB motor
ESC: Pixie 20
Battery: KAN-1050 9.6V 8-cell
Charger: Wattage pf-12 AC/DC
And of course I am planning on most of the standard SS mods.