HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 06, 2004, 09:48 PM
plane obsessed
Denver, CO.
Joined Nov 2003
3,889 Posts
Do planks fly funny or is it just me?

As my slope flying skills evolve I have noticed that planks just seem to fly "different." I am a skilled slimer pilot (well, I think so at least ) and transitioning from glo to sloping with a XR cambat wing took some time- ie: let the glider run to maintain airspeed, try to fly "quiet" in light lift, turn away from the ridge and into the wind, maintain energy to save your butt later, and if you pull up too hard it will tip stall (duh). But when the lift is up- it is pretty much the same thing- except of course unlimited vertical is out of the question.

I also like to fly with lots of throw, and have my TX setup to be very responsive. When banging a turn with a combat wing, or even a tailed airplane I only need 1/4-1/2 stick movement. But on almost every plank I have flown I need almost full elevator throw to get the thing to do a decent slow-motion turn. I have flown Ian's M60 and his old Moth (he flys that thing like a madman!), my own moth, AND I got to fly Jerry's brand new Electron 60 yesterday in some nice lift, and all of them required tons of stick movement to make them turn.

Is it wrong to expect a plank to turn like a combat wing?

Is what I am "feeling" in the sticks just a "linear" elevator response?

Am I a dork?

When they are moving out- ie after a dive or something they seem to "slam" the turn better, but cramming the stick all the way back just feels too wierd to me. It makes me nervous- on most of my other ships full throws at speed= tip stall/ crash. Am I just a spaz, or do planks really fly different?
Cody WIlson is offline Find More Posts by Cody WIlson
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 06, 2004, 09:54 PM
Ninja of the Nasty
Joined Jan 2004
10,652 Posts
my "planks" bang a turn WAY harder and faster than all my "combat" wings.... without ever a tipstall...