SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 31, 2004, 08:24 AM
Burnley, Lancashire, England
Joined May 2004
65 Posts
Problems with Robbe U-47

Hi guys,
I was wondering if anyone else had experienced problems with their Robbe U-47 kits leaking like sieves ?????

I have been extremely careful with mine to follow all the build directions etc very closely. Im not a sub novice, having built two type VIII's before from premade fibreglass hulls.
But this Robbe model is getting my blood boiling, as it takes approx 3 minutes before she takes on enough water to loose all buoyancy and start sinking - and for the life of me I cant work out where it's getting in !!!

Any suggestions would be much appreciated !!!
Nige
English Nige is offline Find More Posts by English Nige
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 31, 2004, 09:05 PM
afc
Massachusetts, USA
Joined Jun 2004
227 Posts
Nige,

The leaks could only be from the two O rings, the vent valve (ie the bicycle tire tube valve), the prop shafts or the bellows. One way to test the source of your leaks would be to submerge the sub completely and pressurize the WTC -- ie pump air into the vent valve and see where the bubbles are emerging from.

One thing I did to my U47 was to replace the stock O ring and use a slightly larger diameter O ring. I also tapered the inside rim of the PVC tube. When tighting the WTC bolt, the O ring mates against a tapered 'cone' instead of a flat surface. The O ring is forced into a 'wedge,' forming a good tight seal. It also helps to lightly lubricate the O ring and the small O ring on the WTC bolt with vaseline.

regards,
Albert
afc is offline Find More Posts by afc
Old Sep 04, 2004, 03:19 AM
Joined May 2004
65 Posts
Re U-47 Leaks

Hi Albert,