SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 30, 2002, 01:30 PM
Tacoma, Wa
Joined Oct 2001
159 Posts
Covering the Zagi (newbie questions)

I am looking at the Zagi 400x as my second plane. I have been flying a GWS Cub FD for a couple of months now and I am looking for my next challenge. After reading too many threads about the Zagi, I have decided that I like the look of an UltraCote covered Zagi over the Zagi tape. As someone who has never covered a plane before is this worth attempting? What equipment would I need to accomplish this? (I am planning on going to the Pacific NW Model Expo this weekend and trying to find some good deals.)

Any tips/tricks would also be greatly appreciated.
estill is offline Find More Posts by estill
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2002, 02:41 PM
Spokane, WA
Joined Jun 2001
98 Posts
Also using Ultracoat for the first time

Eric,

I am working on a slope slayer which is all EPP. I have the ultracoat and will be covering on Friday. I haven't covered a model in many years, and it was balsa back then with monocote. I'm planning to take it slow. Anyones experience with ultracoat and foamies would be appreciated.

Todd
toddp is offline Find More Posts by toddp
Old Jan 30, 2002, 05:01 PM
Tacoma, Wa
Joined Oct 2001
159 Posts
Todd,
If no one else answers can you please report back as to how your's went?
Old Jan 30, 2002, 05:26 PM
Boulder, CO USA
Joined Sep 2001
1,405 Posts
Well....if you want to be a beta test user, you could look at http://www.yourzagi.com/covering.htm and see if it makes sense. The site isn't open yet, but I would appreciate any feedback positive or negative that you might have for that page (or anything). I finished most of the covering page today and there are a few things left to do on it, but have peek and see it it helps or confuses

Oh yea, Ultracote is very easy to do and looks great.
mtayl is offline Find More Posts by mtayl
Last edited by mtayl; Jan 30, 2002 at 05:41 PM.