HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 11, 2004, 05:52 AM
Old Crewchief
Schertz, Texas, United States
Joined May 2004
1,260 Posts
T-37 or T-6 Texan II

Looking for kits of the T-37B, if they exist, of any type. It has been the backbone of Air Force pilot training for over 45 years. Also the new T-6A Texan II which is the replacement for the T-37. I work as a civil servant maintaining both of these planes. Would be nice to add one to my personal fleet. Not sure if this is the right forum but got to start somewhere.
Rick,
fuzzyhead is online now Find More Posts by fuzzyhead
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 11, 2004, 10:04 AM
RB
Buford GA
Joined Jul 2001
480 Posts
I have always liked the looks of the T37. What I want to know is why are they so loud ????

I don't think a small model would be possible due to the size and location of the exhausts.

RB
RB is offline Find More Posts by RB
Old Nov 07, 2006, 02:09 AM
Joined Oct 2006
9 Posts
"Tweet"

As explained to all of us who flew or instructed in the "Mighty Tweet" it has to do with the basic design of the engine. As air passes from the compressor section it has to make a sharp bend to get to the turbine section. The compressor section is similar to the intake section on a turbocharger, complete with plate. It's a simple, rugged, and by todays standards extremely inefficient design. The Ratheon T-6 carries 1/2 the fuel and has about 2 times the sortie duration of the T-37.
DKorzun is offline Find More Posts by DKorzun
Old Nov 07, 2006, 09:19 AM
Will fly for food
Maryland
Joined Sep 2004
8,424 Posts
Actually they only make the high pitched noise at idle. As I remember it, the reason had to do with the intake design.

But hear one fly over at higher power and you just hear a roar.

And of all the strange things you remember over time, the RPM at 100% power for a Tweet is 21370. I wonder if I could pass a Bold Face Exam?

Laughlin Class 82-01
Pinecone is offline Find More Posts by Pinecone