HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 03, 2004, 10:32 PM
Joined Dec 2003
796 Posts
Need new razor plane

My old razor plane finaly gave up the ghost. I cant seem to find another . Can anyone recomend where to buy a good one? Im building balsa hand launch glider wings.
Thanks, Rob
robert harik is offline Find More Posts by robert harik
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 04, 2004, 12:39 AM
Santo, Tx.
Joined Aug 2003
134 Posts
Robert- Tower Hobbies lists the Master Airscrew razor plane for $5.69. I've been using one for several years with no complaints. Jim
Blazer is offline Find More Posts by Blazer
Old Aug 04, 2004, 01:03 AM
Joined Dec 2003
796 Posts
Thanks Blazer, It looks good, I will order one.
Rob
Old Aug 12, 2004, 09:03 PM
Think Thermals!!!!
Costa Mesa, California
Joined Mar 2004
2,964 Posts
I gave up on razor planes years ago. I use an older Stanly block plane. Has a 1" wide blade that I hone to razor sharp. The only trick is getting the depth adjusted for the material being planed.
SoCalGliderFlyr is offline Find More Posts by SoCalGliderFlyr
Old Aug 13, 2004, 09:00 AM
Florida
Joined Aug 2004
4,163 Posts
I also found out that a good block plane like Stanley brand is so much better than a razor plane. You do have to know how to sharpen a blade but that is no big deal. It is a lifetime investment too as, with proper care, it will never wear out.
Rodney is offline Find More Posts by Rodney
Old Aug 14, 2004, 03:32 PM
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
11,626 Posts
Got any basic woodworking skills? I've been making up my own from maple or cherry that use the simple single edged razor blades available from autobody and other outlets. They work great and the blades are CHEAP. I had a Foremost at one time and the price and problems with getting new blades and the flexing of the shoe when gripping it made me toss it.

If you're interested in making your own I'll post up some pics.
BMatthews is online now Find More Posts by BMatthews