SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 01, 2004, 03:10 PM
Joined Aug 2004
6 Posts
Hello, new to the forum. How do you make a coil actuator flap?

Hi,

I am new to ornithopters. I have been researching the subject for a couple of months and I have ordered a few kits.

I am also into robot fish. I saw on the forum about these actuators that are made of coils and magnets. How can you make them flapp constantly?

I understand how they work but what i do not understand is electronics and controls.

If I use one of these on a rudder (the flapping fin) of a robot fish, how would I get it to flap all the time? On a plane you turn the rc and it pushes constant on the rudder to turn the plane. I want the rudder to be the flapping fin so when I forward the speed stick to go, i want the rudder to flap, the more forward on the stick the faster the frequency of flapping.

How do I get or make a controller that can pulst the electricty to the coils to get that?

Hope you understand what I mean. Thanks for any help!
FlipperSail is offline Find More Posts by FlipperSail
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 01, 2004, 05:35 PM
Sticky Shepherd
Oxford/England
Joined May 2001
4,017 Posts
Read this

http://rcgroups.com/links/index.php?...at=232&id=4051

We don't make actuators that flap.

fish are off topic and magnetic actuators are not a good way to produce motive force.

Graham
Graham Stabler is offline Find More Posts by Graham Stabler
Old Aug 01, 2004, 06:23 PM
Joined Aug 2004
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Stabler
Read this

http://rcgroups.com/links/index.php?...at=232&id=4051

We don't make actuators that flap.

fish are off topic and magnetic actuators are not a good way to produce motive force.

Graham
Sorry about being off topic but I meant for using this technique on flapping planes too.

Ok, I understand the force is not so strong but I would still like to try.

Would pulsating electricity to coils be similar as making a LED blink?