HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 26, 2004, 08:02 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,463 Posts
Warden Johnston -- the Alkatraz Launch

A friend sent a photo some time ago of the Alkatraz Launch, Warden Johnston, since then, I've been thinking about how to best acomplish getting the model built. Then, when the oppertunity came up to do the kit review on the Dumas, Jersey City tug, it occured to me that the hull from the JC would be a great starting point.
P. Tritle is offline Find More Posts by P. Tritle
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2004, 08:11 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,463 Posts
Close, but not close enough

Once I got started on the rough drawings, I discovered that the hull was actually too narrow and too shallow. So, rather than start from scratch, I started playing around with proportions, and it turned out that if I took a 3" section out of the wide part of the hull that the width would be perfect, and the depth within 1/2" or so. For me, cutting up the existing hull will be much simpler then drawing and building a new one, so I broke out the Dremel grinder and got at it.
The first step was to locate and mark the section to be removed, then cut the hull into 3 pieces. I must tell you though, that it was really hard to make that first cut--you know, the fear of screwing up a perfectly good hull. But as it turns out, the rematch was very nearly perfect, and the results, definately worth the effort.
Last edited by P. Tritle; Jul 26, 2004 at 08:36 AM.
Old Jul 26, 2004, 08:20 AM
Albuquerque NM
Joined Oct 2003
8,463 Posts
Re-attatching the front and rear halves