HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 25, 2004, 01:44 PM
Anything to do with RC
San Diego Gillespie Field, California, United States
Joined Jul 2004
272 Posts
Alert
up thrust & down thrust

I'm new to this, I build a plane with a brushless motor setup but after build they motor come out with a little up thrust and right thrust? I know that the plane have right thrust but i don't know if the up thrust will make the plabe hard to fly.

I don't get the up thrust and down thrust part. Can anyone tell me anything about it.

Thanks ALL
3D4ever is offline Find More Posts by 3D4ever
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 25, 2004, 02:46 PM
Electric since 1990
East Central Ohio, United States
Joined Jun 2004
3,736 Posts
Depends on the plane.
Don't know the science, but downthrust would keep the plane from climbing too steep under power.
Right thrust helps negate the torque of the spinning propeller which, in a tractor setup, makes the plane want to turn left.
So upthrust would increase the angle of attack when under power. If the plane tends to dive when power is applied, it needs some upthrust. It it tends to pitch up too much or causes a stall then downthrust is called for.
The only way I know to find out if the upthrust is bad on your plane is by flying it.
If the instructions said to add it, then it should be okay.
Foamaholic is online now Find More Posts by Foamaholic
Old Jul 25, 2004, 03:21 PM
Anything to do with RC
Joined Jul 2004
272 Posts
The instruction didn't say anything. The plane come with the motor and the mount but i upgrade to a burshless motor stup so i have to build the mount my self. It does have a right thrust setup but i don't know if the up thrust will hurt the plane fly.

Thanks foamaholic
Old Jul 25, 2004, 07:27 PM
Electric since 1990
Joined Jun 2004
3,736 Posts
What plane is it, or what type of plane?
Don't think I've ever seen one that calls for upthrust. Maybe something unusual would.