HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale

Gambler+ from Wright Brothers RC

Mitch Gerdisch enters the realm of magically powered planes with a review of the new discus launch glider from Wright Brothers RC. (Before and after video of launching this glider can be found in the HLG Pro Clinic video review!)

Splash

Introduction

My Gambler+ waiting for launch.
My Gambler+ waiting for launch.
Wingspan:48” (1.25m)
Chord:6” (15cm) at center
Wing Area:256 in2 (16.5 dm2)
Weight (as specified):6.3-6.9oz (179-193 g)
Weight (as built):7.4oz (210g)
Wing Loading (as specified):3.5-3.9 oz/ft.2 (10.8-11.7 g/dm2)
Wing Loading (as built):4.1 oz/ft.2 (12.7 g/dm2)
RX Battery:4-cell 270mAh NiMH pack (weight ~ 1.2oz).
Radio Equipment:Berg Microstamp RX; Hitec HS-55 servos.
Manufacturer:Wright Brothers RC
Designer:Allan Wright
Kit Price:$60

I’ve been flying R/C for about four years now and, up until recently, I could always see what was powering my plane – namely the motor and prop on the nose. But, this year I found myself being drawn into invisible power sources. It started with a slope plane -- the natural forces that keep it aloft continue to amaze me. But, I wanted to enter the realms of magical sources of power and that’s when I started thinking that I wanted to try hand launch gliders. After all, what could be more magical than using some sinews of muscle and Sol’s furnace to make a plane fly?