SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 20, 2004, 05:16 PM
Tn
Joined Aug 2003
230 Posts
How to build flashing LED's

Does anybody have a schematic and a parts list of how to build this. I am thinking something along the lines of - Left wing, blink blink-right wing, blink blink- tail, single blink. Something along the lines of that. I am a complete newbie when it comes to electronics. I was just wondering if someone had something easy to follow.

Thanks,

Ben
Ben McCoy is online now Find More Posts by Ben McCoy
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2004, 06:51 PM
RIP "Long Shadow Flyer"
Upstate New York-- Rochester, NY USA
Joined Oct 2001
732 Posts
Ben,

The good news is no complicated circuit is necessary now days, you can purchase LEDs with the bliker built in. You just hook them up in series with a resistor between + and - and they start blinking.. Very easy to add lights to a plane...

Sources for blinking LEDs
Radio Shack ( a little expensive now days)
http://www.radioshack.com/category.a...2%5F000&Page=2

Allelectronics ( electronic surplus)
http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...200&type=store

There are also kits good way to learn a little about electronics...
http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...305&type=store

Hope this helps
Carl
crvogt is offline Find More Posts by crvogt
Old Jul 20, 2004, 07:39 PM
Newbury, UK
Joined Aug 2002
671 Posts
Unfortunately, correct me if I,m wrong, but all they do is blink on and off at a fixed rate - you are unable to control the period. There is lot a of folks out there,
myself included, who have designed circuits to blink more like a real aircraft, which is what Ben was asking for (I believe).
Texy
Texy is offline Find More Posts by Texy
Old Jul 20, 2004, 09:01 PM
Tn
Joined Aug 2003
230 Posts
Thats right Texy.. Could you help?? Thanks for the info anyway CRVOGT...
Old Jul 20, 2004, 09:25 PM
RIP Ric
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts