SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 12, 2004, 11:34 PM
dammachines
United States, DC, Washington
Joined Feb 2004
1,375 Posts
Parts for the Ricky Carmichael Bike - Finally...

Well, now that it looks like everyone has lost interest in this bike, I have finally produced a few real parts that are almost ready to be installed.

I've had the CNC mill for about four months now and though I've been playing around cutting out swing arms in MDF, these are the first aluminum parts I've made.

I've attached a few pictures, but since this is my first time attaching pics here, they might not show up.

If they do, the first is of the adapter to mount a TT rear sprocket to the rear wheel. I still need to finish drilling and tapping the four 3mm holes to attach the sproket to the adapter

The other two pics are of my front sprocket. I started off using a TT front sprocket as well, but decided to make an entirely new sproket to fit in place of the stock front pulley. It came out nice on the first try. The pictures are of my prototype part in machinable wax - I'll be cutting an aluminum version tomorrow night.

Hopefully once I get these parts finalized and get a working aluminum swingarm interest in this bike will pick up again. If only I had a little more free time to work on these things...

Dave.
dmincin is online now Find More Posts by dmincin
Last edited by dmincin; Jul 15, 2004 at 10:20 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 13, 2004, 12:10 PM
Brno Turany, Czechoslovakia (former)
Joined Mar 2004
185 Posts
Nice piece of machining Dave,
I wish I could have cnc mill too . Shouldn't be better if that front sprocket would be made of steel (I think this because it's more strained) and rear sprocket made of alu?
Good luck.
aveox is offline Find More Posts by aveox
Old Jul 13, 2004, 03:36 PM
nj
Joined Jan 2004
1,394 Posts
Cool i have 2 of these bikes always looking for improvements!
Great work!