HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 12, 2004, 11:38 AM
Blythewood, SC USA
Joined Mar 2000
123 Posts
How to build a strong plywood motor mount?

I have a need for a strong plywood motor mount for a Hacker C50 XL, because the plane I am converting, a Great Planes Extra 300s ARF calls for the propeller drive washer to be 7 inches from the firewall. Even the best motor mounts out there for this motor will only give me about 5.5 inches and would require a spacer anyway, and with the motor that far out, turning a large 22x14 prop, I would be afraid of ratcheting the motor right off the firewall. So, where does one begin? I've built smaller motor mounts out of plywood before, but I am by no means an engineering master, and wouldn't know where to add strength and where I can take some material away for cooling. Has anyone done this before or can point me in the right direction? Thanks ever so much.

Oh, BTW, I have the two fiberglass spacers/templates that came with the motor, so I can rather easily make the actual mount itself. What I am looking for is a way to extend that mount out about 7 inches. Thanks again!
[Propwash] is online now Find More Posts by [Propwash]
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 12, 2004, 06:04 PM
Paducah Barkley, Kentucky, United States
Joined Sep 2003
783 Posts
I'm not familiar with the plane, motor, or the mount that you need. But there is a way to strengthen ply, fibergalss cloth. Case in point, not knowing what i'd need for the mount on the scratch built fun fly plane on my bench right now, I made some 1/8" ply out of 2 pieces of 1/16" ply, grain at 90deg angles, bonded with thinned 30min epoxy, with 3/4oz cloth between the pieces, on a flat table and heavy books added till its cured. Let cure then cut to shape. It does add strength at a miminal weight penality. Also you can reinforce corners, joints, etc. with the FG cloth and epoxy (or finishing resin unthinned, but it takes much longer to cure)

HTH

mike