SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 11, 2004, 12:39 PM
Joined Jul 2004
376 Posts
Before I make this purchase, can someone check it out?

I am an electric newbie but have been reading intently the last few weeks and feel I've learned quite a bit. I already have the plane ordered (3dfoamy Edge 540 12-15 ounce). I also already have a LiPo charger (accucycle Elite). I've decided to go with the following setup and would like you experts to make sure I'm not doing something stupid

AXI 2212/34 External Rotor Brushless Motor from Hobby Lobby
Castle Creations Phoenix-25 ESC
APC 11x4.7 slow slyer prop
APC 12x6 Slow Flyer Prop
Berg-5*DSP II Receiver (Horizontal Pins)
4 Hitec HS-55 Standard Feather Servo
Deans Male and Female Ultra Plugs
MPI 3.5 mm Gold Power Plugs
2 Poly-Quest 10C Lithium-Polymer 850mAh 3S PACK (11.1V, 8.5A)
Graupner Prop Shaft Adapter for 3.2mm (1/8") Motor Levi over at 3DFoamy has made some custom AXI motor mounts that he is including in my kit so there is no need for me to buy the radial mounting set. I assume this Graupner shaft adapter should fit my needs.

Have a missed anything? Am I doing anything stupid?
coomarlin is online now Find More Posts by coomarlin
Last edited by coomarlin; Jul 11, 2004 at 01:01 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 11, 2004, 01:06 PM
Joined Jul 2004
376 Posts
One additonal note. Since ther plane wil be so light and pull max about 9 amps do you think I should go with the Deans Polerized Micro Plugs instead of the Ultra plugs. http://www.aeromicro.com/Catalog/dea...gs_1719670.htm

Are the ultra plugs overkill? The reason I chose the ultra plugs was because I figured that they are supposed to be the best and I just make one or two charge leads and that way I wouldn't have to have seperate charge leads for the micro or JST connectors taht I see on other packs.
Old Jul 11, 2004, 02:08 PM
You're a nerd.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Joined Aug 2003
441 Posts
Is this plane recommended for a beginner?