HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 06, 2004, 07:10 AM
Vtol Builder
High Wycombe, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
997 Posts
Harrier Jump Jet

Hi, i am sure this has been asked a thousand times before, but i ahd a look back over the last 10 pages and couldn't see anything on it so i thought i would ask.

I have no flight experience at all, so please bear with me, i am getting my first plane in a few days (or whenever it turns up) so i am making a start, but i was wondering about the feasability of a Harrier.

I was thinking about having 4 small edfs. one connected to each thrust tube. you could then use 2 gyros to controll the 4 motors to keep the plane level in hover mode. to move left and right you could vary the speed of the motors to tilt the plane and move it. as for forwards and backwards you could use a combination of motor speed and duct angles.

would that even be possible, or would it be just too heavy and overly complex to build and setup??

thanks

Lewis
Lewist is offline Find More Posts by Lewist
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2004, 07:15 AM
EDF Head
Stavanger, Norway
Joined Feb 2000
7,999 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewist
would that even be possible, or would it be just too heavy and overly complex to build and setup??
In theory its a piece of cake, in real life no one have made it happen yet. Weight is your main enemy/challenge.
Haldor is offline Find More Posts by Haldor
Old Jul 06, 2004, 07:33 AM
Vtol Builder
Joined Jul 2004
997 Posts
ok, what sort of thrust would a edf for a 300 motor have running a really hot brushless on 11.6 volt Lipos.

it guess the main construction would have to be foam to save weight!

Thanks

Lewis
Old Jul 06, 2004, 07:41 AM
310mph Kolibri T25 Swist
Sverige, Kronobergs Lšn, Ljungby
Joined Jan 2001
4,820 Posts
thinking Minifans with Mega /2 should be able to burst to 400watts/fan giveing the power to lift... say 7lb

with two 3s3p TP6000 it could be done