HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 20, 2002, 02:28 PM
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
Joined Apr 2001
1,023 Posts
Expert 6ch Micro Receiver GLITCH Problems

I just purchased an "Expert Electronics" 6channel, dual conversion micro receiver #650 and put it in my Zagi to the side of the battery cuttout just like I've seen in some of the posts here. I was flying yesterday and experience significant glitching when only about 600 or 700 feet away. I went back in and replaced it with my standard size Hitec receiver, same place, just a bigger hole, and routed the antenna in basically the same place. NO PROBLEMS. I also had aluminum foil around the ESC in both cases.

Any ideas? I was told that this was a full range, dual conversion rec.

Thanks
Jim
JimF is offline Find More Posts by JimF
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2002, 04:26 AM
T-52 over Seattle
Seattle
Joined Jun 2001
267 Posts
I've been using the Expert 650 for a couple of months now and haven't had any problems.

The Expert 650 is a repackaged JR 610M and uses the same single conversion crystals as the JR. Dual conversion receivers are used to eliminate cross-talk between channels which JR's single conversion RX does using a clever engineering design in their patented ABC&W circuit (Anti-Blocking Cross-modulation and Windowing).

I know a lot of people using the 650 and 610M in their planes and gliders without range problems. It sounds like 'your' RX is suspect, but I would suggest trying a different 650 in the same plane before dropping all 650s. A cold solder joint on the antenna, for example, would certainly give you problems.

Anyway, those are my experiences with the 650. I have found them to be a good, inexpensive, very light-weight RX. Your LHS might be able to swap your suspect one for a new one.

Silver
Silver is offline Find More Posts by Silver
Old Jan 23, 2002, 11:31 AM
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
Joined Apr 2001
1,023 Posts
Thanks Silver,