HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 05, 2004, 06:37 PM
Wollongong, NSW, Australia
Joined May 2004
19 Posts
Where to get Goop in Australia

Hi all,

I am new to sloping and am interested in trying goop to protect my sloper. Does anyone know where to get Goop, Marine Goop or Shoe Goo in Sydney Australia? I cannnot seem to find it anywhere. Also can I use it to cover a finisded plane covered in normal tape?

Thanks
Skygazer is offline Find More Posts by Skygazer
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 05, 2004, 07:00 PM
speedfreek
Newcastle, Australia
Joined Apr 2003
3,257 Posts
Its called Shoo Goo and you will find it in any sports store for about $12.00 a tube. You thin it down with Slate & Concrete Sealer Solvent which is about 80% Xylene, which you can get in hardware stores like Bunnings for about $15.00. Thin it down to the consistancy of warm honey or varnish and apply it with a foam brush to avoid brush strokes.

I paint it on my planes over the solartex. You can see the results on my old Electron 54 at http://www.speedfreeks.com. It will also work over the tape, but it may peel off a little easier if you dont rough the tape up first.

Regards,

Waz
alkoo is online now Find More Posts by alkoo
Last edited by alkoo; Jul 05, 2004 at 07:03 PM.
Old Jul 05, 2004, 07:06 PM
Joined May 2004
19 Posts
I have tried a couple of the shoe repair / key cutter people but they did not sell it anymore. I will try Rebel sports and see if they have it.

Nice build BTW.

thanks
Old Jul 05, 2004, 10:17 PM
Registered Luser
Brisbane, Australia
Joined May 2004
187 Posts
I got a tube of Shoe Goo at Rebel Sports for $12.50 - in QLD but I'm sure NSW stores would stock it.

Jason
JayF is offline Find More Posts by JayF
Old Jul 05, 2004, 10:23 PM
antipodean recalcitrant
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Joined Feb 2004
3,171 Posts
I bought a tube the other day for $10 at a shoe repair/engraving/key cutting shop in a shopping centre.

Anton
AntonL is offline Find More Posts by AntonL