HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 02, 2004, 08:46 AM
Graz - Austria
Joined Jun 2004
11 Posts
Question
Make a pc joystick out of an old transmitter??

Hi everybody!

I was just wondering if its possible to build a joystick for my computer out of an old unused 4 channel transmitter.
My motivation: I dont want to spent money on an interfacecable for my Tx to train on a sim like fms.
My thoughts so far:
Cut of the cable of an unused joystick with gameport-connector.
Connect the wires of the cable with the potentiometers of the transmitter. Voila! Ready to fly.
I have to remark i am a noob in electronics so please dont laugh if it is a stupid question.

Twiggi
Twiggi is offline Find More Posts by Twiggi
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2004, 09:57 AM
United Kingdom, Wrexham
Joined Jun 2004
622 Posts
have a go

I am sure it is possible, but seems like a lot of work. It would be more practical, if the tx works to i/f via the buddy box port. You only need a piece of cable, a resisitor tansistor and suitable connector to connect via serial or parallel. Goto FMS homepage and look at the links. There are pages which should answer all your questions.

Hope this helps.
plane_spotter is offline Find More Posts by plane_spotter
Old Jul 02, 2004, 10:25 AM
Graz - Austria
Joined Jun 2004
11 Posts
I would prefer my method if it works. It would be very comfortable for me when i have a joystick looking like a "real" transmitter permanent connected to my computer. During weekdays i live in a small flat near a university where i am studying civil engineer and where my computer is. I dont want to take the transmitter with me after the weekend. So thats why i would prefer my method. I am trying to build something like this: http://www.gamebird.de/