HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 24, 2004, 07:18 AM
Sweden
Joined Jun 2004
3 Posts
GWS Tiger Moth: Advanced flying?

I have just made a hole in the ground with my Piko stik, so now itīs time to buy a new plane.
Iīm thinking instead to buy the first small Tiger Moth from GWS with the DX2BB motor.

-Can this plane make loopings without fall into pieces?

-And has anyone converted this model with ailerons?

-Hints on modifications that I "have to do" directly after unpacking?

/L-O
los945 is offline Find More Posts by los945
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 24, 2004, 11:26 AM
Allentown, PA
Joined May 2002
8 Posts
TM - advanced flying

I have been flying my GWS -TM for about 2 years by now.
I had a couple of mishaps due to windgust/aerobatics, breaking the wings. as well as a couple of close encounters with trees and other obstructions.

I have done the following modifications:
1. Installed carbon fiber tubing under the wings to stiften the wings. Mounted with package tape about 1/4 of the cord from the leading edge.
2. Put in cross bracing, heavy sewing thread between top and bottom wings. One cross between the "N" strut at the wing and the center section.
3. upgraded to a 350 (C) motor/gearbox using a 9x6 AP sloflyer propeller, with a Great Planes prop adapter on a shortened shaft.

I have not done an aileron modification yet, but that is an interesting thought though.

I am using 8.4 V NiMH / 650 mAh, but am actually upgrading to LiPo soon.

Plane can do unlimited loops, tophats etc. It is not 3D though.

I fly of a golf course in my backyard. There are many trees, and it creates a lot of turbulence. The IPS power system was strugling to pull me through, but with the 350 I take off like a rocket. Gliding however is not good, and ground handling can be a little hard on the landing gear, but it is in general very nice to fly.
leifgund is offline Find More Posts by leifgund
Old Jun 24, 2004, 11:43 AM
UK
Joined Sep 2002
371 Posts
Quote: