SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 23, 2004, 02:33 PM
Grizzled Member
Bonners Ferry, Idaho USA
Joined Mar 2001
267 Posts
Astro 05 & Large(ish) AP Plane?

Hello all,

I am just starting to get back into R/C after being absent for about 2 yrs. I've got a lot of glow experience, but the extent of my electric knowledge consists of a little time spent with a Lite-Stick, and a scratch built "Tiny" using the GWS IPS motor. I experimented a little with NiMH packs on the Tiny and tweaked a few props and actually got it to fly really good (until I whacked a tree with it). Beyond that I'm pretty green in the electrics area.

What I want to do is build an AP plane out of some (good) junk I have laying around. I have a wing and an Astro 05 direct drive motor that I believe will work together. Picked up the wing at a swap meet a while back for $5 bucks. Very nicely built, flat bottomed airfoil, it looks like it might be for a 2 meter sport/training type of sailplane (Wanderer 72 would be my best guess, but there probably haven't been any of those around for 10 yrs). The motor was installed in some sort of high-wing trainer that I traded straight across for a new Lite-Stick kit. It's a 7-turn motor, from what I've gleaned from the forum. No batteries, speed control, or anything else.

The wing specs:
Span: 72"
Chord: 10"
Area: 640 sq. in. (taking the tapered tips into account)
Weight: 9.8 oz.

Planning to build something similar to the EZ400 G, but of course slightly bigger. Tenatively planning on using a Fuji A210 camera (6.2 0z. without batt) and I'd also like to be able to fly a GPS (5.7 oz. rtf), and eventually a downlink system at the same time.

My questions are:

1. Am I even in the ballpark with this combo?

2. Which gearbox should I use? I'm thinking the Astro Flight "super box" for maximum gear reduction? Are there other options for gearing this motor other than Astro Flight? It wouldn't work on a plane this size without gearing, would it?