HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 16, 2004, 10:36 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2004
8 Posts
How to make own Power supply at home? convert from PC power supply?

Is any one know how to make the power supply convertion and use with MC2002 (GWS charges)
HumbleBoss is offline Find More Posts by HumbleBoss
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 16, 2004, 10:51 PM
Registered User
schoey's Avatar
Newcastle, Australia
Joined Nov 2000
549 Posts
A couple of links

Fisrt using 'search'
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/searc...earchid=307395

And from one of the old threads
http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

hope it helps

Grant
schoey is offline Find More Posts by schoey
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 07:44 AM
Surfimp fan ;-)
Jenny2657's Avatar
Long Beach, CA
Joined Apr 2004
176 Posts
I got this one some time ago:

http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...180&type=store

and it works great.

HTH

Jen
Jenny2657 is offline Find More Posts by Jenny2657
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Tri-City Airport Municipal, Tennesse, United States
Joined Oct 2003
425 Posts
Is it ok to just identify the 12v+ lead and common lead, put a connector on these and hook up the charger?? The converting info states to take the cover off and create new terminals but my power supply is locked up tight. Also is there a way to measure how much wattage these leads can put out?

Jake
bigjake is offline Find More Posts by bigjake
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 10:10 AM
Registered User
Timbo337's Avatar
Virginia
Joined Apr 2003
305 Posts
I used the tutorial that schoey posted (the 2nd link), and had no problems doing it. Should only take ~20 minutes to convert it. What kind of ps do you have? If it one with the push-button power button, then you need to find the power good wire and solder it to a +5 volts line.

If you have an older ps with a big red switch then you shouldn't have to do what I just described.

You will probably need 3 to 4 wires of each +12v and common. I think this is to make sure that it is providing enough amps or watts. You might want to make sure that you are getting the full 12 volts across the terminals, if not, then follow the instructions on that site for putting a load on the +5volt line.

Your power supply should say how many watts it can put out. Or you can just do the math. Power=Current*Volts

For instance, my ps says 200watts, and has the stats: +12v at 8 amps and +5v at 23 amps.

So thats 12*8=96 and 5*23=115. 115+96=211 watts (close enough)
Timbo337 is offline Find More Posts by Timbo337
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Tri-City Airport Municipal, Tennesse, United States
Joined Oct 2003
425 Posts
I have a new type supply(don't know the name at this time). I did get it to work correctly and it runs when plugged in. I also identified the 12+, 5+ lines, and common lines. The case looks pretty difficult to get into so I was trying to use the external wires. Can I group several external wires rate at 12v+ and several common wires and accomplish the same thing?
bigjake is offline Find More Posts by bigjake
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 11:00 AM
Permanently Banned
San Jose Ca / RSA flyer
Joined May 2003
8,030 Posts
Why bother ? Lots of surplus 12v power supply , PC types for $1.00l
hall woo is offline Find More Posts by hall woo
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 03:34 PM
Aurora Builder
United States, MD, Lusby
Joined Nov 2003
3,412 Posts
Ok. Thats not much usefull info. Where can we get these and they just hook up to the charger like a battery right? Otherwise, I'm gonna do the Power Supply mod (or is that what your talking about?) because I can get boatloads for free (own a computer company).

Sam
samc99us is online now Find More Posts by samc99us
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 05:34 PM
Permanently Banned
San Jose Ca / RSA flyer
Joined May 2003
8,030 Posts
Sam

Here in San Jose, Santa Clara, there is so much surplus that they leave it out at the front of the store, all kinds of stuff for $1 like at Halted Specialties , www.halted.com.

There's gotta be surplus places near you too or check out BF enterprises in the electronic surplus
search on Google

I picked up 2 ATX power supply 250w for $1 each working on one weekend.

Read the threads on using the PC pwr supply .
hall woo is offline Find More Posts by hall woo
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 05:50 PM
Permanently Banned
San Jose Ca / RSA flyer
Joined May 2003
8,030 Posts
There is also a bunch of surplus switching power supplies that can adjusted . I got a bunch of QUALIDYNE units at HACKETT ELECTRONICS in San Jose 408 283 9000 , ask for Mark or Stan .

I use it with the GWS peaker. Has a 12v 15 amp output and also a 12v 7 amp output.
All you have to do is wire up an AC pwr cord to it and hook up the charger to the screw terminals or srew in some banana plug studs so you can use small alligator clips on the studs. You have to change the battery clips on the GWS to small alligator clips
hall woo is offline Find More Posts by hall woo
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2004, 06:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2003
786 Posts
Just follow the directions in the sites listed and you will have a working power supply for your charger. But do follow the directions as closely as possible, otherwise its not safe. Collecting all the 12v and common together in seperate bundles and cutting off the wires not needed, not only lets you draw the needed current, but also makes things neat. You dont want a bunch of loose wires all over shorting, getting tripped over ect...
robert harik is offline Find More Posts by robert harik
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 11:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
4 Posts
I have an HP hot swap psu 212398-001 and I need to get the Pin out for this psu. I am new and have not found anything like this one. any and all help is welcome
jonfon is offline Find More Posts by jonfon
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2010, 01:25 AM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,256 Posts
You might find some info here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309

Fred
flarssen is offline Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 10:26 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
4 Posts
I have looked for the power supply in this link
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309
and I could not find it there. Is there another location were I can find this information

thanks
jonfon
jonfon is offline Find More Posts by jonfon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! PC Power Supply AT the same as ATX? Craig Mckinley Batteries and Chargers 3 May 21, 2007 02:56 AM
Question Starting PC Power Supply (AT) bergfalke4 Batteries and Chargers 12 Dec 24, 2005 03:54 PM
You mean to say I need to buy a power supply to power the Triton at home!! Canada Goose Batteries and Chargers 19 Dec 26, 2004 01:18 PM
how to connect a charger to a power supply kennyc Batteries and Chargers 1 Mar 13, 2004 10:45 AM
help with making own power supply from pc billyboy Power Systems 1 Mar 15, 2002 08:22 PM