SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 13, 2004, 10:59 AM
MeVs Gravity, Gravity won
Jarg's Avatar
Cambridge, U.K.
Joined May 2004
358 Posts
Question
brush less motor

i know, its mad, havent even got my Aerohawk yet (in the post from canada), but going through some old elecronic bits o found the guts of a old belt driven turn table, and its motor was some where in the mess, have opened it up and removed the circut bord areound it,

i think it would be easer to get my parents to get a old cd/hd from work so i can use the motor in that. But all the same, the motor i took out weighs about 70g (to heavy?) and i can't seem to get it to work, but hears a pic of it,

any sugestions, i don't think it will ever work as it was desinged to turn at 33 or 45 rpm .

if not ne one know ne good instructions to make a brushless, also where can i but the eletronics to make a brushless work

thanks

Jarg
Jarg is offline Find More Posts by Jarg
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 13, 2004, 11:35 AM
micro mechanic
aerohawk1's Avatar
Oz, Kansas
Joined May 2004
2,303 Posts
Sorry,dude,but the picture is not of a brushless motor.The things in the white cap are the brushes.If it won't work,it is probably no good.

Aerohawk1
aerohawk1 is offline Find More Posts by aerohawk1
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 11:35 AM
"Watch this!" SMACK!
jaggies's Avatar
Mountain View Moffett Fd, California, United States
Joined Apr 2001
1,048 Posts
I don't know which motor the aerohawk uses, but it's likely a modern speed 300-class motor. Doesn't it come with the motor?

Anyway, the motor you show was probably not under as much load as a heli would demand. For one things, the brushes are way too wimpy. If you open a speed 300 motor you'll see what I mean. Also, the windings are made of very fine wire. High torque motors often use much thicker wire (or lots of thin wire in parallel).

If you're interested in getting a cheap brushless motor, check out this website:

http://www.gobrushless.com/

My friend says you can build one for about $20. Don't know if this will work in the aerohawk. He bought one of the kits for his airplane.

Your best bet is to go with one of the CastleCreations Phoenix series brushless ESCs. You can get them directly from http://www.castlecreations.com or most hobby stores that carry brushless.

--jim
jaggies is offline Find More Posts by jaggies
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 11:44 AM
MeVs Gravity, Gravity won
Jarg's Avatar
Cambridge, U.K.
Joined May 2004
358 Posts
thought it look like a rubish motor, will try to get some from a cd rom or hd (could i use motors from floppy drives as well)

will post more on this thread in time

Jarg
Jarg is offline Find More Posts by Jarg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 11:52 AM
"Watch this!" SMACK!
jaggies's Avatar
Mountain View Moffett Fd, California, United States
Joined Apr 2001
1,048 Posts
You wont be able to use the CDROM, HD or floppy motor stock as far as I know. Check out the above site for ideas...

--jim
jaggies is offline Find More Posts by jaggies
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 11:58 AM
MeVs Gravity, Gravity won
Jarg's Avatar
Cambridge, U.K.
Joined May 2004
358 Posts
have had a look on

http://www.gobrushless.com/


i think it will get the :

GB Kit v1.15 Includes:

22.7mm Insulated Stator
Stock can for 22.7mm Stator
15-pk of N45 5mm X 5mm X 1mm Magnets
Stock Bearing Sleeve Holder
Stock Bearing Sleeve
Stock 3mm Shaft
3-Color Set (~25ft ea) of 26g Magnet Wire
2-pk 3mm X 6mm X 2.5mm Ball Bearings
Phoenix-10 Electronic Speed Controller

GB Kit v1.15... USD $68.89

some time down the line i will probably get this with a gyro (gy240?) and reciver

but first will need to learn to fly

Jarg
Jarg is offline Find More Posts by Jarg
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 12:14 PM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
The Netherlands, GE, Nijmegen
Joined Feb 2001
10,677 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarg
... could i use motors from floppy drives as well ...
Yes. There have been discussions on this over in the 'power systems' forum. You can even do it direct drive:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=197862
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lrk-to...x/message/4831
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/lrk-to...x/message/4833

Met vriendelijke groeten Ron
diy outrunner discussion group
int. E fly-in & diy outrunner meet, Nijmegen, the Netherlands -> 2005
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 12:19 PM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
The Netherlands, GE, Nijmegen
Joined Feb 2001
10,677 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggies
You wont be able to use the CDROM, HD or floppy motor stock as far as I know ...
For a Piccolo you can:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=235391

Groeten Ron
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Last edited by Ron van Sommeren; Jun 13, 2004 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 01:35 PM
4-D traveller
glxy's Avatar
New Location
Joined Dec 2003
620 Posts
For the Aerohawk, there is a brushless alternative (Himax) for the main motor. The problem is the tail.

I've done the research lately, there is none brushless tail motor manufactured or on sell out there. It's hard to believe when so many helies are being flown...
glxy is offline Find More Posts by glxy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2004, 09:49 AM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
The Netherlands, GE, Nijmegen
Joined Feb 2001
10,677 Posts
Use a cd-rom motor for the tail.
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2004, 01:12 PM
4-D traveller
glxy's Avatar
New Location
Joined Dec 2003
620 Posts
I know that, and will try. But it's just daunting for me to do the rewinding and all the modification stuff.

Still, it's strange that no stock brushless helies are produced and available anywhere.
glxy is offline Find More Posts by glxy
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2004, 01:17 PM
MeVs Gravity, Gravity won
Jarg's Avatar
Cambridge, U.K.
Joined May 2004
358 Posts
from the manufactors point of view, to have it brushless you would need a new ecs and motor which could increse the cots of the heli up to $100,

if you are going to buy a heli and are new to it, you would but the brushed set up save $100 and get spairs, of buy your own motor that fits you, even better make one for about $20

Jarg
Jarg is offline Find More Posts by Jarg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My own design Sensor less/ Brush less/ Slot less Motor and driver Takao Shimizu Power Systems 84 Jul 28, 2005 04:35 PM
What's a good Brush Less replacement for IPS motor? bboydeezturb Parkflyers 4 Jun 30, 2004 10:52 PM
Amp check question for brush-less bigbear3721 Power Systems 6 May 03, 2004 02:53 AM
New Bruss-less Motor And Esc fvbreemen Product Announcements 23 Nov 19, 2003 10:58 AM