HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 13, 2002, 06:25 PM
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
Joined Apr 2001
1,022 Posts
Principles of battery charging.

I'm new to electrics and I'm trying to learn about charging batteries. I have a Hitec 335 charger, no instructions. The display doesn't show units, so I don't know what I'm seeing displayed.

Please explain the principles of charging, and the particulars of the Hitec 335 if you can.

Thanks
Jim
JimF is offline Find More Posts by JimF
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2002, 03:32 AM
N. Staffs, UK
Joined Jan 1997
5,654 Posts
Please read the EFlight FAQ (link at top of page). It contains quite a lot about batteries, chargers and charging.

The principle is that you apply a charging current to the battery and it charges up. For fast charging when it is full the voltage on the battery goes down slightly, known as a peak, and the charger stops charging. There's a lot more to it than that though. Please feel free to ask any specific questions you have.

I'm sure someone will be able to let you have a copy of the 335 manual if you ask nicely but I doubt if anyone will write the whole thing out here for you.

Steve
steve lewin is offline Find More Posts by steve lewin
Old Jan 14, 2002, 04:03 AM
high-speed freak
San Jose, CA
Joined Sep 2001
3,863 Posts
well, I don't know what kind of batteries you're trying to charge, but I hope its just nicads with that charger.

the first principle of charging batteries is you get what you pay for. after upgrading from a hitec 320 to an orbit charger, I would say the first thing to do with that charger is to toss it and get a decent one.

it will work, but If you're doing more than a couple nicads get something else.
opualuan is offline Find More Posts by opualuan
Old Jan 14, 2002, 07:25 AM
N. Staffs, UK
Joined Jan 1997
5,654 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by opualuan