Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 22, 2004, 10:24 PM
Elfi Flyer
Rock Hill, SC
Joined Oct 2002
5,543 Posts
In need of some basics

I am fairly new to LiPoly battery packs, having used NiCads and NiMH's for some time now. I understand the configuration of a LiPoly battery pack is something such as: 3s2p, 1300 mAh. As I understand it, this example would describe a LiPoly pack made up of a total of 6 cells, each cell having 3.7 volts available (when suitably charged). Three of the 6 cells are connected in series, to provide 11.1 volts total for this 3 cell "pack". A second "pack" of 3 cells is also wired in series to provide 11.1 volts. The two packs (3 cells each) are then conneced in parallel, so the finished battery pack will have 11.1 volts available, at a total capacity of 2600 mAh. Not sure if this is correct.

What I have a problem figuring out is a 2s1p configuration. Is this two cells in series, with the two cells also connected in parallel? Don't see how this is possible without shorting out something. Same thing for 3s1p. I would like to see a diagram of these configurations, to better explain them. Pehaps someone could point me in the right direction to some literature, a website, or whatever that would help a newbie learn the wiring arrangements possible for LiPoly battery packs.

Many thanks in advance.

RD
Doug Sipprell is offline Find More Posts by Doug Sipprell
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Doug Sipprell; May 22, 2004 at 10:25 PM. Reason: grammar
to remove ads between posts
Old May 22, 2004, 11:27 PM
Dismembered Member...
Niagara Falls/Toronto area
Joined Dec 2003
4,536 Posts
RD: You have the first part right. The nomenclature used is XsYp to indicate the pack. It's overkill when there are no parallel cells in the pack. Hence, a 3s1p pack is simply 3 cells in series.

Brad
arx_n_sparx is offline Find More Posts by arx_n_sparx
Old May 23, 2004, 04:04 AM
N. Staffs, UK
Joined Jan 1997
5,654 Posts