HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 10, 2001, 01:11 PM
Ellenboro North Carolina
Joined Sep 2001
3 Posts
gas to electric conversion help needed.

I am a newbie building an Eaglet50 balsa trainer. Should weigh about 54 oz in gas trim. Any advise on motor, prop, servos, r/c, and batterys? I plan to use a 3 channel xmitter I have used on a Zagi wing. Looking for steady park flyer type of performance not 3d aerobatics. Thanks for any help. mflann.
mflann is offline Find More Posts by mflann
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2001, 01:36 PM
Naperville, IL USA
Joined Nov 2000
1,886 Posts
What's the wingspan and wing area for the plane?

Mitch
Mitch G is offline Find More Posts by Mitch G
Old Sep 10, 2001, 02:03 PM
St. Louis, Missouri
Joined Oct 2000
725 Posts
The Goldberg Eaglet 50 is a very good trainer/sport flyer. I'm sure you'll like it a lot. Be sure to keep the weight as low as possible. A Kyosho Magnetic Mayhem motor (reverse) with a Master Airscrew 3 to 1 gearbox and a MAS 11-7 or 12-8 prop should work great. I'd use at least an 8 cell 2400 mah battery pack too.
columbiarcdude is offline Find More Posts by columbiarcdude
Old Sep 10, 2001, 02:08 PM
San Diego, CA, USA
Joined Aug 2000
525 Posts
It's a 48" span high-wing trainer.

Basic inputs: you need 50W/lb to fly, including the weight of your batteries, etc.

It will fly on a Magnetic Mayhem on 8-10cells geared... I don't have prop/gearbox recommendations for that powersystem, though... You should figure about 30A to get enough power to ROG.

to REALLY perform, get an ASTRO-15G, 14 cells and 11X7 or 12X8 prop.
(I have this plane and it works really well)

I converted mine to a taildragger to save weight, but it won't matter much.