HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2002, 09:12 AM
Registered User
The Other Dave's Avatar
Colorado Front Range, USA, EARTH, Sol system, Milkyway Galaxy
Joined Nov 2001
2,356 Posts
Totally bizare. When I run my radio/plane in my basement it glitches outside it's ok

Yesterday I was trimming out my new TM in the basement of
my house. I was getting glitches and receiver lock ups every few
minutes. This is my first RC plane so I have never tried this before. But my RC cars don't have any problems.

Got really frustrated and went outside did a range check with the antenna down now it works perfectly even flew
it around the front of my house (antenna up).

Take it back down in the basement and whammo lockups with the antenna up or down.

If I use the radio and a FMS interface cable it works fine in the software.

I am using gws 4p receiver and flight pack with hitec eclipse 7
tx on channel 47.

One thing to mention. In my basement I am running.

TV, 1 large computer server, 1 fast gaming machine, overhead florescent lights....other assorted printers scanners and such.

Anyone seen this type of thing before.
The Other Dave is offline Find More Posts by The Other Dave
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2002, 09:38 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,765 Posts
You already know what the cause is: All the computer gear! Jürgen
P.S.: You can check it with a world-radio-receiver too.
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2002, 11:22 AM
Registered User
Lynn In
Joined Dec 2001
118 Posts
you might be to close to the rec with the transmitter thus over driving the receiver try moving the radio away from the model it might help
Good Luck
jkolp is offline Find More Posts by jkolp
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2002, 11:28 AM
Registered User
The Other Dave's Avatar
Colorado Front Range, USA, EARTH, Sol system, Milkyway Galaxy
Joined Nov 2001
2,356 Posts
Update

Ok went out to fly this morning. Very cold 10 F or so.

Bad bad bad.

Plane started glitching in flight after good range check.

Crash.

Picked it up all looks ok.

Unplug and plug in bat.

Servos full travel and hang.

Reset both tx and rx plug it in same deal.

I definitely think this is a rx problem due to the fact that when it dies it cannot be reset by turning off and on tx.

How close are people running their esc to the rx. Mine is very
close.

One other thing. Even while running the am-sci li-ions I am using
are outputting 8.2 volts. The esc should be ok with this but
it just seems strange.

TIA Dave
The Other Dave is offline Find More Posts by The Other Dave
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2002, 12:13 PM
Registered User
Ireland
Joined Apr 2001
4,031 Posts
bad conection

It could be a bad "crimped" connector and that vibrations couse it to fail.

Inspect each single pin and do range checks with running motor.
cmulder is offline Find More Posts by cmulder
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2002, 12:25 AM
Registered User
Pittsburgh PA.
Joined Dec 2001
87 Posts
Dave

The florescent lights will do that too. Happens
at my house and my friends house to. Don't know
if its the lights or the reflectors around the lights.
I guess you could turn out the lights and try it.
but its really hard to fly these little suckers in the dark.

Terry W
Terry W is offline Find More Posts by Terry W
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 09, 2002, 12:31 PM
Registered User
flyfalcons's Avatar
Bonney Lake, WA
Joined Jan 2002
788 Posts
crystal

I had the same glitching problem when first setting up my TM gear. The servos would give FULL (more than tx-capable) travel and hang up. Turned out if I pushed the crystal in one direction, the whole system would go bonkers. Pushing it back in the other direction solved the problem completely. I rigged it to stay that way but it's disconcerting knowing my model's controllability is just hanging on a thread.
flyfalcons is offline Find More Posts by flyfalcons
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Can I put a reall radio systyem in my park zone/esc,servos. cobrapilot Electric Plane Talk 4 Aug 14, 2005 06:28 PM
Can I bring my RC plane & radio equipment on board a commerical airliner???? atsiang Electric Plane Talk 15 Mar 27, 2005 02:15 PM
MM Dandy, newest plane in my hanger 10Thumbs Parkflyers 12 Mar 10, 2003 10:20 AM
AM radio static in my pickup Al P Life, The Universe, and Politics 11 Mar 16, 2002 08:04 AM
Vote my new aerobatic plane in... kepople Electric Plane Talk 11 Jul 30, 2001 04:24 AM