HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 31, 2001, 06:12 PM
Joined Oct 2001
103 Posts
Voyager Build Questions...I'm Pulling My Hair Out

Hi All,

I'm setting up my voyager and I'm having some "issues". Everything is completely stock (I ordered the CF Frames & have the 85 MG's, but I can't wait that long). This is my first attempt at CCPM.

Questions:

1 - How do you get an accurate pitch reading? There is so much play in the head that the gauge reads differently as you tilt the flybar, not to mention put any down pressure on the blade. I think I may be getting 0 - +17, can't be sure. I'm using a helimax gauge.

2 - What's with the play in the tail?? Has anyone found a way to remove the slop? The ball on the slider is too small for starters.

3 - When I run the head up I get a very pronounced wobble at about 1/4 stick, almost as if the main shaft was bent or the blades haven't straightened out (not the case). My Raptor does this but soon stops as I increase throttle. I'm affraid to increase throttle because the wobble is pretty severe & I'm affraid it will tip

Any thoughts?

Mike
jimmyG is offline Find More Posts by jimmyG
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2001, 06:41 PM
eastern CT
Joined Nov 2000
83 Posts
The pitch guage should read different as the flybar tilts,this is what a flybar does,it takes load off the servos by reacting to servo movement and tilting.The flybar tilt causes the pitch to increase on one side and decrease on the other(of the main blades).When you are setting the machine up you should lock the flybar level(90 degrees to the main shaft).
I dont see how you could have +-17 of pitch,there is not enough mixer/swashplate travel.Make sure the flybar is locked and the blades centered(undo the link to the grip and make the blade balance(flat pitch)this is a good place to start.IF you are just learning you don't need much negative pitch,put in a couple(-2 OR -3) Don't try fast forward flight like this, you won't get it down!