HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by helinor, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 13, 2014, 08:49 AM
Canada, BC, Castlegar
Joined May 2014
135 Posts
450 for FUN ?

Dear Sir :

I am building up a 450 but am finding it entails a bit more work than FUN . Yeah , I have a blast doing the build . I am having various problems setting up my bird though and perhaps I could ask some advice :

My bird : Same frame kit as yours .
3S 2200mA bat(s)
4x25Amp ESC
2822 Emax motors twisting 10x5 carbon blades
APM2.6 with the external compass option
MinimOSD (not working yet , dammit !)
Walkera Devo7 FPV radio

This thing is extremely TWITCHY to fly . 1/16th inch on the stix and it moves , a lot ! APM guys say to leave it in the learn mode rather than use dual rates . If it survives that long to learn anything , I would be amazed .

I have my compass mounted 45 degrees of the forward axis and use the "Missio Planner" software to compensate but the error usually gets worse . Although I would prefer to fly this bird manually , the OPTION of having the GPS / Google Earth planning is one of the main goals here .

My basic concern is in the "dummying it down" so that I can fly it ! Please refer to my blog posting on this .

I would gladly offer my first born male child in exchange of any advice . Note that he has issues with mowing the lawns and chores in general .

Thanx for any advice . Regards : RickC_RCAV8R
RickC_RCAV8R is offline Find More Posts by RickC_RCAV8R
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Magnetite !
Old Jul 13, 2014, 12:59 PM
says hello from Norway
Norway, Telemark, Skien
Joined Mar 2013
369 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickC_RCAV8R View Post
Dear Sir :

I am building up a 450 but am finding it entails a bit more work than FUN . Yeah , I have a blast doing the build . I am having various problems setting up my bird though and perhaps I could ask some advice :