HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 13, 2004, 12:21 PM
PDS
Detroit Willow Run, Michigan, United States
Joined Sep 2002
189 Posts
Graupner Piper Cub J-3 Conversion

Hobby Lobby has a Piper Cub J-3 that I would like to convert it to electric. http://www.hobby-lobby.com/pipercubj3.htm I know that E-Zone has an electric conversion with a Jeti 45-3 Brushless using 16 CP-2400 cells. This article was written in Feb of 2003. http://www.rcgroups.com/links/index.php?id=4066 My question is: With all the new technology, Thunder Power lipo’s and AXI outrunners, would there be a better setup for this Cub.
Graupner Cub Specs are as follows:
Wingspan: 72”
690 sq. in. wing area
Length: 40”
Weight: Hobby-Lobby states that the flying weight for gas is 6.5 lbs.
Radio: 4 channels: Ailerons, Elevator, Rudder, and Throttle

This will be my first conversion so I could us all your recommendations. I have been flying for a couple of years now and have flown indoor and out. Parkflyers and Zagi’s.

Thanks
PDS
PDS is offline Find More Posts by PDS
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 13, 2004, 01:55 PM
USA, FL, Apopka
Joined Sep 2003
1,134 Posts
Check in the scale model forums after ezone fixs the search function.

John
jonnyjetprop is offline Find More Posts by jonnyjetprop
Old Apr 13, 2004, 05:43 PM
Account closed
Joined Oct 2002
35,016 Posts
Well, it seems that you listed just BRUSHLESS motors and Li-POLYs so, you would need someone that has spent lots of $$$.