HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 13, 2014, 03:16 PM
Joined Jan 2013
203 Posts
Discussion
Flip of Death "Beautifully heart breaking" -Wookong the story

I have been flying the Wookong for about a year and a half now. Doing random AP jobs as they come up and many personal creative projects. I have shot aerial for Ford Motor co. , Local real-estate , Music video producers etc.

Being a DP/videographer and being able to put the camera in the air is a dream come true. I have been building and flying RC since the earl 1980's with a few Hiatuses. When this multi rotor wave formed I was all in.

With a focus on filming I jumped on the DJI bandwagon buying the Phantom when it was first released. But I wanted to put a better camera in the air then a go pro so I started looking at the S800. After seeing so many issues with that airframe I decided to go with a Carbon Core 950. Great frame, low vibration. For the flight controller I went with the Wooknong M, with V2 gps. I also bought the Z15 G so that I could fly my hacked gh2.

I also built seven other multi rotors to use as flight training, back up aerial rigs and just general practice at being as proficient as possible with these systems. I still have a lot to learn.

So close to 200 flights in with the Wookong M, 950, Zenmuse combo the hex starts flying a little odd. At first it was altitude would drop randomly. This is without any configuration changes to the set up. I also noticed the Gimbal wasn't keeping horizon and was twitching randomly. White flashes started to apear on the LED for the Wookong. I started doing a lot of research on this and obviously vibration is the first topic that people bring up. I went through my whole system, motors and props and verified that all was balanced and vibrations were in check.