Old Apr 02, 2014, 02:05 AM
Wasserkuppe wannabe
Central coast NSW Australia
Joined Aug 2006
108 Posts
Discussion
The looming threat to RC Submarines

Hi all,

Like you I love to run my model subs. I have been doing so for the last ten years . However recently I have had some concerns about the future of this aspect of the hobby.

My trusty 36mhz radio has started getting glitchy. As trying to narrow down the cause I have ascertained it is something with the transmitter. I then got online and started looking at the possibility of replacement.

I don't have a problem with 2.4 ghz. I've never actually used it , ( and I do fly gliders) however most of us seem to know that it does not work underwater. This is a problems for us Submariners.

Do you know how hard it is to find non-2.4ghz radios? I am convinced that the major RC companies are phasing out our old FM technology and this concerns me, and I have not really seen the issue raised on any of the chat forums. People seem oblivious.

I know that the second hand market will be around, initially picking up an FM radio ( be it 36 , 35 , 40 or 75 MHz) probably won't be too difficult initially and most people will probably get a good radio for a good price.

However in 4-5 years time as the second hand market 'dries up' so to speak then the price of these radios will probably slowly rise. As these radios get rarer and rarer there will be less people engaging in that hobby called rc subs and those that do will hold onto their radios like gold.

We live in a throw away society, if it dies just by a new one! , well what if that technology is no longer continued and has not been for years. What then?
I live just north of Sydney Australia, finding someone locally and even in Sydney who could fix my radio, good luck with that. I just pray that my other radios hold out for as long as possible because finding someone who can repair these old radios is like all the other things I've mentioned, probably going to get harder.