Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 22, 2004, 02:58 AM
Joined Feb 2004
21 Posts
motor formulas

Hello!

I'm new to electric flying and would like to know more about the formulas used when predicitng performance of electric power systems. Is there any homepage that is explaining this in detail?? It would be nice to know the formulas used in most motor prediction programs.

By the way could someone please eplain to me the definition of the no load current I0? Is it the noload current at motors labeled voltage ?
When looking on motordata I0 is written as a constant and in formulas I have found it is used as a constant, but in real life I0 must bee depending of input voltage. Am I missig something here? Shouldnt I0 be defined as a no load curent versus input voltage? like X.X Amps/volt?

/David
qwe123 is offline Find More Posts by qwe123
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 22, 2004, 03:32 AM
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,688 Posts
No load current is approximately constant. It represnents the amount of energy needed to 'charge' and 'discharge' the magnetic circuit each revolution. Plus frictional losses. That energy varies with RPM, which varies with voltage, so whilst lost power is proprtional to voltage, the current remains approximately the same. There are other effects - eddy current loss - that do go up with voltage, so idle current does indeed increase a litlle with voltage, but its nearer a constant than a variable.

Thats for brushed motors: Brushless motors with thei controllers have an added dimension in that the controller itself may interact to produce other losses.

Like all formulae in engineering, those used to predict motor peformance are partly quite accurate, and partly rule of thumb,.

Copper losses are very predictable, idle current losses are less so, but if measuremnets at or near expected voltage are taken, are sufficiently constant for a good appropximation.
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Old Mar 22, 2004, 04:49 AM