Old Feb 08, 2014, 10:49 PM
Ah, so its THIS again. . .
United States, NV, Sparks
Joined Jan 2013
337 Posts
Help!
Inherited 688i

Hello guys !

I just inherited an older 688i Los Angeles submarine.

It has an older receiver in it and one of the things I'm considering is putting one of my Tactic 624 or 625 receivers in the sub. They are 2.4 ghz though and I don't know much about underwater performance with RC equipment.

Additionally the sub inst exactly in running order at this moment. And to further the problems of getting is ready for the pool, is the fact that I have very little RC plane experience and a bit of RC sail boat experience. The only plus is that I do CB Radio repair for a living and I'm not the Dullest tool in the shed so I figure I can catch on.

One question I have is how much PSI do I fill the copper air tank to. And how does the ballast work? I the air valve seems to be on top of the air chamber. I would think that to take on water and expel water that the opening would be below the water line. Again this is how I received the sub, so the acrylic tube may be twisted up. I couldn't tell you.

one other question. There is a air valve stem near the power switch, on the same end of the tube as where the ESC and battery go. I am assuming at this point that that if to draw air out of the compartment and create a vacuum. Would that be correct?

Attached are some pictures of the sub and her components.

She is 36 inches over all with a fiberglass hull.
Ronin055 is offline Find More Posts by Ronin055
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 08, 2014, 11:01 PM
Rochester,NY
Joined Apr 2007
283 Posts
Welll I can't help with the ballast questions I do know that 2.4 ghz will not work in a submarine. 75 mhz is the way to go in the us. I'm sure others here can help with your questions.
Greg W is offline Find More Posts by Greg W
Old Feb 08, 2014, 11:07 PM
Joined Jan 2013
337 Posts
So Ive got to come across a 75 mhz radio then? Crap! LoL

First world problems.