Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio

Secrets of Thermal Soaring

If model sailplane pilots ran the Discovery Channel, they'd make videos like Paul Naton's "Secrets of Thermal Soaring."

Splash

Features An informative and in-depth look at the physics of thermals and thermal flying.  Features 135 detailed color illustrations, and a library of thermals in action.
Formats DVD, VHS (NTSC or PAL)
Available from Radio Carbon Art

Introduction

If model sailplane pilots ran the Discovery Channel, they’d make videos like Paul Naton’s "Secrets of Thermal Soaring." This instructional video should appeal to both the beginner and expert sailplane pilot alike. It presents the environment our hobby takes place in (the air!) in a detailed, and novel way.

A bit of background on your reviewer might be in order for some perspective: I’m primarily a slope pilot, and for a long time in my early flying career I’d never really paid much attention to thermals, except perhaps when I blundered into big boomer while zipping through ridge lift.

A few years ago, I started dabbling in hand launch gliders, so my appetite for thermal knowledge increased quite a bit. I read Dave Thornburg’s classic "Old Buzzard’s Soaring Book" and tried to apply as much as I could to my new flat field gliding activities. My skills have continually improved, but I still don’t consider myself to be very good at it, which is where "Secrets of Thermal Soaring" comes in. I’ll take every extra bit of knowledge I can get!

This video won’t make you a great sailplane pilot: you need to actually get out there and practice for that. But for the beginner pilot especially, it does a lot to explain away much of the mystery of how and why thermals form, and where, when, and under what conditions you can find them.

A look at the DVD menu.