SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 10, 2004, 12:05 AM
Zoom, zoom...
Roseville, CA (Sacramento area)
Joined May 2003
3,514 Posts
Starting my first scratch built, need some help...

I am planning on putting together one of Chris3D's Tiger Moths and/or Pitts. This will be a scaled up version from his RFFS design and be assembled out of Depron. My question lies in this...

I have a bunch (30) of the J250 motors from All Electronics. I wish to run these DD (the cost of adding a gearbox and the Depron makes it almost as much as a NIB white Tiger Moth from GWS) using either the 4025 or 4040 GWS props. I also have the 3030 and 3020 props if that would make a better choice. My main issue is, what should my wingspan be? I am thinking in the 18 - 20 inch range, but since I am a foam kit builder, I know nothing about figuring out scratch dimensions.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Kevin
Trikster is offline Find More Posts by Trikster
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 10, 2004, 12:44 AM
It's the last plane honey
Granite Bay, CA USA
Joined Jul 2003
2,133 Posts
So that's why you were looking for the foam... Can't wait to see it.

Andy
SlowRider is offline Find More Posts by SlowRider
Old Mar 10, 2004, 12:45 AM
Zoom, zoom...
Joined May 2003
3,514 Posts
Yup!
Old Mar 10, 2004, 08:45 AM
Team 30 Micro EDF
Camarillo, California
Joined Apr 2002
4,516 Posts
The motor itself weighs 1 5/8 ounces. Figure the weight of the rest of your gear, pick an acceptable wing loading, and let that determine your needed wing area, and work back from there to your wing span...
Mike Taylor is offline Find More Posts by Mike Taylor
Old Mar 10, 2004, 11:23 PM
Zoom, zoom...
Joined May 2003
3,514 Posts
I appreciate the advice Mike, but I have only built kits in the past. I have no clue what you just said...
Old Mar 11, 2004, 12:19 AM
BGR
Foam Junkie
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined Dec 2003
1,656 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Taylor