SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 07, 2004, 11:27 PM
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Joined Jan 2004
388 Posts
Why won't my brand new NiMH Aerohawk batteries charge correctly?

I am new to the electric world. I bought two new 800 mAH 8.4 V batteries for the Aerohawk and charged them afresh with my Piranha charger. One gives me ~1 minute of flight before it is dead and the other ~2.5 minutes. What in the world is going on? I have the correct settings on the charger and have the delta peak senstivity at 8. It seems the worse pack only takes in about 150 mAH and it is done charging. Please give some advice if you can. Thanks in advance!
ucsdgemini is offline Find More Posts by ucsdgemini
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2004, 12:24 AM
Castle Tech
Olathe, KS
Joined Aug 2003
4,890 Posts
you need to slow charge them the first few times....if you can, charge them at .1A...this will "open up" the cells...they wont reach full charge capability for a few cycles...if they still wont work you probably have a bad cell and should send them back.
Joe Ford is offline Find More Posts by Joe Ford
Old Mar 08, 2004, 10:31 AM
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Joined Jan 2004
388 Posts
Thanks for the advice. Will do. Gosh, slope soarers were so much easier!
Old Mar 08, 2004, 10:53 AM
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,206 Posts
Which model Piranha do you have? Are you sure it can be set to give you only ~80mA charge rate for slow charging. Otherwise you might have to cycle them several times by discharging them down to 1v/cell, then recharging them using the 50mA trickle charge capability - but that will take 20hrs or so to charge them each time [at 80mA it will still take ~14hrs].

Cheers, Phil
Dr Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Dr Kiwi
Old Mar 08, 2004, 03:50 PM
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Joined Jan 2004
388 Posts