HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 07, 2004, 01:21 AM
Registered User
NSW, Australia
Joined Jun 2003
1,224 Posts
Camera switch using a servo - comments please

I am currently designing a camera switch that controls a servo to trigger the shutter. This idea originated in another thread: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=205821

The idea is that this simple PIC circuit sits between the receiver and the servo and provides useful features that are not available with a direct servo connection. These include:

- keep-alive function for those cameras where you can't disable the sleep mode
- repeatable, precise positioning of the servo for shutter triggering

My preliminary documation is here:

http://www.designsoft.com.au/ahome/r...WITCH/ssw.html

If anyone has any comments on this, or suggestions for other features I will consider them. I am, of course, particularly interested if this device already exists - reinventing wheels is a waste of everyone's time.

Thanks in advance,
Tim
TugBoat is offline Find More Posts by TugBoat
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2004, 03:07 AM
Registered User
NSW, Australia
Joined Jun 2003
1,224 Posts
Regarding power off on Loss of Signal:

The idea here is that this would occur on a significant loss of signal, not just a glitch. What I was aiming for was to reduce the power load by allowing the camera to shutdown and stop the camera servo using power as well. If you have an LMA you want as much power as possible for that.

Have I built and tested this yet?

No, I just prepared the design document first. When I have some feedback I will complete the programming and testing. Then it will get some QA testing. After all that it will be available for anyone to use.

Tim
TugBoat is offline Find More Posts by TugBoat
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2004, 08:38 AM
Registered User
Ironsides's Avatar
Toronto, Canada
Joined Jan 2003
1,284 Posts
Two Stages

Tim:

Excellent design documentation.

Some of the high end cameras require a two stage trigger. Perhaps a jumper could be used to elect this option.

First pressure = focus and exposure evaluation: Second pressure = shutter trigger.

Thus, in two stage operation we need:

1. A way to adjust servo throw to achieve first pressure
2. A momentary pause
3. A way to adjust servo throw to ensure shutter trigger.

This is covered in some depth by Fuchs as per:

http://www.rc-float-flying.rchomepag...le%20Servo.htm

David
Ironsides is offline Find More Posts by Ironsides
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2004, 09:08 AM
Am I registered?
Randy Due's Avatar
Chandler, Tx. USA
Joined May 2003
2,495 Posts
Tugboat,

Sounds great!

Randy
Randy Due is offline Find More Posts by Randy Due
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2004, 08:17 AM
Registered User
Montreal, Canada
Joined Nov 2002
41 Posts
d.o.a. switch

Hi Tugboat and other fellows aerial photographers,
I tried your design at www.designsoft.com.au/ahome/rc/PIC-ESC/ESC.html without any result. The PIC looks dead in op mode as in prog mode. I'm sure of my hardware and programming tools. Is it somebody who successfully made one? Your project looks so great, can you give me some hints?
Sylvain.
HDWF900 is offline Find More Posts by HDWF900
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2004, 08:47 AM
Registered User
Montreal, Canada
Joined Nov 2002
41 Posts
I apologize!
I just pasted the wrong link, I'm really talking of this one:
http://www.designsoft.com.au/ahome/r...WITCH/ssw.html
Sylvain.
HDWF900 is offline Find More Posts by HDWF900
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2004, 10:46 PM
Registered User
NSW, Australia
Joined Jun 2003
1,224 Posts
Sylvain,

I have responded to your email about this. It should work fine and shouldn't take long to get it working for you.

Tim
TugBoat is offline Find More Posts by TugBoat
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2004, 07:22 AM
Registered User
Montreal, Canada
Joined Nov 2002
41 Posts
Thank you Tim,
I just sent you details about the issue.
Regards,
Sylvain.
HDWF900 is offline Find More Posts by HDWF900
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2004, 11:51 PM
Registered User
Montreal, Canada
Joined Nov 2002
41 Posts
Great design!

Thank you so much Tim!
You targetted exactly where I missed. My programming software's default set-up
erases before writing the Pic and put 3FF in the calibration location. I just replaced this value with '3480' as you suggested me and Hocus Pocus the little guy came to life! Your device does everything for my needs and lets me concentring on the flight, not on managing the arm position of a servo.
A real jewell of Pic programming and design.
Regards,
Sylvain.
HDWF900 is offline Find More Posts by HDWF900
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion I'm sick of using a servo triggered setup for my camera!! TheDustyPagan Aerial Photography 30 May 02, 2007 05:43 PM
GWS 'Naro' servo for camera switch Andyfree Aerial Photography 1 Mar 22, 2004 10:40 PM
Servo problem, please help... Vincent Power Systems 5 Dec 10, 2001 12:00 PM
Camera and Camcorder missing from DEAF... Please help dave_lilley Life, The Universe, and Politics 31 Oct 22, 2001 01:04 AM
I need a new Tx so FF9 or 3810 opinions + comments please nigel99 Electric Heli Talk 4 Oct 16, 2001 05:18 AM