HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by Steveis, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 05, 2014, 06:07 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,430 Posts
Discussion
KK2.1 Updated Firmware - KK2.0 "look-a-like"

HW Version 2.1
SW Version 1.12S1Beginner With Spektrum (R) Satellite Support
Steveis

I realised that the KK2.1 configuration is becoming less simple for people new to the hobby so I have created this "Beginner" version which has all the bells and whistles removed. It's practically like the KK2.0 V1.6 and flies the same too.

I don't think I can improve the KK2.0 "look-a-like" any further so this will most likely be the only "Beginner" version I will produce.

If you fly aggressive acro, please update to the latest version without "Beginner" on the end of the version and crank the gyro up to 2000 deg per second.

Changes since HK V1.6 for KK2.1

Default settings are are close to KK2.0 so P&I and Stick Scale values should be close to those used on KK2.0. I've test flown both and I can't tell the difference.

Warnings:

i) Firmware will reset all settings

Critical bug(s) corrected:

i) Corrected pin assignment for Output 5 and Output 6
ii) Initialisation settings didn't get written to the MPU6050 so it was stuck on 250 deg/sec and 2g

Minor bug(s) corrected:

i) Updated KK1_6_MPU6050 to remove unused code for menu button press (thanks RC911)
ii) Updated KK1_6_MPU6050 to correct Meny code to disable OCR1A and B interrupt (thanks RC911)
iii) Changed/Corrected I2C routines so they actually work now
iV) Tidied up I2C routine for burst reading of sensor data
v) More accurate battery voltage - adjusted to read the same as my KK2.0 (thanks HappySundays)
vi) Corrected low voltage alarm calculation
vii) RC911 bug fix in the Number Editor (original firmware) that allowed setting a value to zero (CLR) when the lower limit was higher.
viii) RC911 bug fix in the original firmware that kept the "Link Roll Pitch" flag from being updated until the user returned to the SAFE screen.

Addition(s):

i) MPU6050 Temperature shown on SAFE screen
ii) Added support for Spektrum (R) Satellite and clones (See Note 1 below)
iii) 8.32 maths library to accommodate high gyro rates for self level (probably not required in this "Beginner" version but included nevertheless as I am using it in my future versions).

Changes in operation:

i) Defaults to AUX for Self Level On/Off
ii) All mixing resets to zero when you do a factory reset so you have to select a motor layout

Note 1 (Many thanks to David Thompson of OpenAero(2) fame for this feature)

Supports Spektrum(R) satellite with Tarot cable
Tested with Spektrum AR7/8000 DSM2 satellite and Orange R100 Satellite
Only supports 10 bit with all data in 1 frame
Only supports 7 channels
Uses Throttle input for Tarot cable
Hold buttons 2&3 on power up to enter binding mode
If you switch between CPPM, Sat or normal receivers, power cycle the KK2.1
Debug lists 16 frame bytes from satellite - you'll know if there are 2 frames of data (so bind again). You will need V1.11S2 to use the debug menu.
KK2.1 Settings: -
You will need to set "Sat or CPPM" to "Yes" in Mode Settings
You will need to assign the channels correctly in Sat-CPPM Channels as A=2,E=3,T=1,R=4,Aux=5
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Steveis; Jan 15, 2014 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 05, 2014, 06:28 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,511 Posts
Thanks Steve. I added it to the repository.

Happy New Year
Christian
LazyZero is online now Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2014, 12:07 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Sheffield
Joined Jan 2014
15 Posts
Great work steveis, I've currently got v1.11s2 and its working well. I'm building a quad for a mate who's a beginner so self level mode is important. I've found the self level on v1.11s2 is a bit slow to level compared to how I remember the kk2.0 self level, on which version does self level work best, v1.11s2 or v1.12s1?
RCBUG80 is offline Find More Posts by RCBUG80
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2014, 12:27 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCBUG80 View Post
Great work steveis, I've currently got v1.11s2 and its working well. I'm building a quad for a mate who's a beginner so self level mode is important. I've found the self level on v1.11s2 is a bit slow to level compared to how I remember the kk2.0 self level, on which version does self level work best, v1.11s2 or v1.12s1?
Self level is best on V1.12S1Beginner.

I hope to release a new version in a week or two with better self level on all gyro settings.
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2014, 12:46 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Sheffield
Joined Jan 2014
15 Posts
Thanks steveis, will try it out.
RCBUG80 is offline Find More Posts by RCBUG80
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2014, 02:07 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Nov 2013
590 Posts
Sweet, I'm gonna give it a go just because I can't resist new firmware. Plus, it's so quick and simple.
The Quasar is offline Find More Posts by The Quasar
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: V272 Velocity Nanoquad Review
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 06, 2014, 06:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
18 Posts
Hi Steve, thanks for putting in all the hard work. I've just upgraded the firmware on my 450 size quad using a kk2.1 to the V1.12S1Beginner version. Unfortunately the self level isn't working very well. I went up to values of 235 & 70 but the quad still continues in the same direction instead of leveling out.

If anyone here manages to get it working right please post your PI & self leveling values.

Thanks much.
Bopanna
IndianAngler is offline Find More Posts by IndianAngler
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2014, 06:38 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianAngler View Post
Hi Steve, thanks for putting in all the hard work. I've just upgraded the firmware on my 450 size quad using a kk2.1 to the V1.12S1Beginner version. Unfortunately the self level isn't working very well. I went up to values of 235 & 70 but the quad still continues in the same direction instead of leveling out.

If anyone here manages to get it working right please post your PI & self leveling values.

Thanks much.
Bopanna
Are you sure SL is actually on?
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2014, 11:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
18 Posts
Hi Steve, yes SL is ON.
IndianAngler is offline Find More Posts by IndianAngler
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2014, 12:08 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianAngler View Post
Hi Steve, yes SL is ON.
Can you do a factory reset in the menu and see if that fixes it.
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2014, 12:32 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2013
18 Posts
I will need to set up the quad all over again correct?
IndianAngler is offline Find More Posts by IndianAngler
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2014, 12:37 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndianAngler View Post
I will need to set up the quad all over again correct?
I'm afraid so. Just note down the P&I and stick scalings.
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2014, 08:07 AM
Champagne Supernova
FlyHighSelllow's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Jul 2010
1,828 Posts
Thanks to Steve, Lazyzero, KK for their efforts. Great forum here full of smart peeps.

Newbie here. Received my KK2.1 FC and USBasp in the mail yesterday. After a few minutes of installing drivers etc I successfully flashed to Steves V1.12S1Beginner version.

I have some newbie questions.

Is there a doc or video that explains the arming/disarm process ? I got it to arm after remembering reading something about the sticks have to be in a particular position. But it seems like its easily disarmed as well. So is it possible to arm, fly and if sticks move to correct disarm position it could disarm in flight ?

Is there supposed to be a constant beep every few seconds coming from somewhere ?

I'll be calibrating my ESC's and going thru other settings tonite...
FlyHighSelllow is offline Find More Posts by FlyHighSelllow
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2014, 09:02 AM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyHighSelllow View Post
Thanks to Steve, Lazyzero, KK for their efforts. Great forum here full of smart peeps.

Newbie here. Received my KK2.1 FC and USBasp in the mail yesterday. After a few minutes of installing drivers etc I successfully flashed to Steves V1.12S1Beginner version.

I have some newbie questions.

Is there a doc or video that explains the arming/disarm process ? I got it to arm after remembering reading something about the sticks have to be in a particular position. But it seems like its easily disarmed as well. So is it possible to arm, fly and if sticks move to correct disarm position it could disarm in flight ?

Is there supposed to be a constant beep every few seconds coming from somewhere ?

I'll be calibrating my ESC's and going thru other settings tonite...
As it's like a KK2.0, you would do well to start on the first post here: -

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1675613

Yes, it could disarm in flight if you have zero throttle and yaw fully to the left for about half a second but unlikely for a beginner.
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KK2.1 V1.17S1 Updated Firmware
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2014, 09:46 AM
Champagne Supernova
FlyHighSelllow's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Jul 2010
1,828 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
As it's like a KK2.0, you would do well to start on the first post here: -

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1675613

Yes, it could disarm in flight if you have zero throttle and yaw fully to the left for about half a second but unlikely for a beginner.
So no throttle and yaw fully left disarms and no throtle and yaw fully right arms it?

Seems like you could just use throttle cut to arm/disarm or set arm on and setup throttle cut ?
FlyHighSelllow is offline Find More Posts by FlyHighSelllow
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion update kk2.0 firmware using Arduino osliang Multirotor Electronics 0 Nov 22, 2013 04:47 AM
Sold New KK2.0 board with updated firmware - $45 Shipped Shane QG Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Sep 20, 2013 01:18 PM