HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 18, 2013, 12:25 AM
Joined Jan 2007
134 Posts
Discussion
Next Kit?

Hello All,

Seeking my next kit. I'm a novice builder with two Steven's Aero kits under my belt (Buzz 100 & SHAFT 400). I was going to build a Daddy-O 525, and I probably still will, but I'm looking for something a little bigger. I really like the look of both the Hangar 9 Toledo Special and the Sig Rascal 72. But what I don't like is that they are ARFs. Don't get me wrong, I taught myself how to fly with a UM T-28 and stepped up to the larger one, but now that I've built two of my own, I can't stand the thought of showing up at the field with something that somebody else built.

So I'm looking for options. I'd like a wingspan in the 65" to 80" range, high wing and tail dragger. It will be electric. If the Rascal 72 or the Toledo were kitted I'd buy one in a heartbeat so that's the look I'm after. No scale jobs, It may sound odd but I'm on this kick where I want my toys to look like toys. I guess that's why I like the old free flight designs.

Suggestions are welcome and appreciated.
highnpressurized is offline Find More Posts by highnpressurized
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2013, 02:27 AM
UAS Pilot/Tech Instructor
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2000
1,488 Posts
Here you go; http://shop.balsausa.com/product_p/426.htm . The Balsa USA Student Trainer is right up your alley for a first large build that has that "old timer sportster" look.

The only things I see is that you'd have add a battery mount if you want to electric. Also, the pics look funky with the tricycle gear but I read somewhere that the kit has the option to make it a tail dragger.

Mike
CryHavoc is online now Find More Posts by CryHavoc
Old Dec 18, 2013, 03:51 AM
Joined Jan 2007
134 Posts