Old Dec 10, 2013, 12:49 PM
VicRC
Burbank, California
Joined Sep 2003
439 Posts
Discussion
FrSky X8R receiver help

Hi Folks,

I am new to FrSky and just got my Taranis and it came with and X8R receiver. I also purchased another X8R to make 16 channels. With the help of the video I was able to bind them to the receiver.

I have a few questions.

1 - Can I plug in 2 batteries to power each receiver? I do this on 9ch Jr receivers without any problems, how do I plug two batteries into each receiver?

2- Can I plug in the RX battery into the RSSI port? or S.Bus port?

3- Which one is A1 and A2 ports? so it can read their value through telemetry?

4- It says that two X8R can be used serially, what does that mean and how do I do this?

5- I want one of the two receiver to get input value from my ignition battery, where can I plug that in so I can read it through telemetry? Is there anything I need to do this?

Sorry for all these questions as I am new and don't want to screw things up.

Vic
fw190 is offline Find More Posts by fw190
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2013, 01:41 PM
It's a job...
United States, PA, Warrington
Joined May 2012
1,187 Posts
You will have to power each rx. Whether or not you choose to power from same battery source is up to you.

Not my video. But very useful. I need to more channels to run things like remote LEDs, missile launcher, coffee maker, flight attendant call button, PA system, etc...

I plan to install a completely separate SBEC for rx #2.

Taranis How To: Bind Two X8R's together to get 16 Channels (6 min 35 sec)
747Pilot is offline Find More Posts by 747Pilot
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Phantom FX-61
Old Dec 10, 2013, 01:47 PM
VicRC
Burbank, California
Joined Sep 2003
439 Posts
Thanks for the reply, that is the video that helped me bind to receivers. Without it the manual does not help me any,

Can I plug in a RX battery into RSSI port and another into the S.Bus port?