HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 06, 2013, 11:43 AM
United States, UT, Sandy
Joined May 2013
2,462 Posts
Discussion
WHat are your predictions for DLG features in 2014

I am new to this sport, That lets me think outside of the box if I didn't have that reputation prior.

I predict DLG's of the future will:

Be more durable. Possibly tested and marketed as to what side forces the tail feathers can sustain. Published nose in Velocity/angles with zero ship damage.

DLG's will Have super strong, and Aero shaped nose cones that flirt with the 5mm radius rule. why add ballast instead of some beef.

Breakaway tail feathers. for damage reduction and quick stowage.

Designed for ease of build and preflight assembly.

Pod designs tailored more to a specific set of RX's , servo's, and batteries.

1S batts will rule!.

Wish list:
Smoke screen system to keep others out of your thermal.. Actually just think how cool it would be to be able to drop pink pixie dust to help you learn what the air is really looking like.
elkski is online now Find More Posts by elkski
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2013, 01:05 PM
Chuck 'Em and Chase 'Em
United States, NY, Plainview
Joined Aug 2005
8,094 Posts
We will yo-yo back and forth between low and high aspect ratio designs.

the average man will continue to lust after whatever plane the top pilot flies.

Prices will get higher.

Wives will still complain whenever the 60+" box comes to the front door.....
Fly2High is online now Find More Posts by Fly2High
Old Dec 06, 2013, 02:52 PM
G_T
Joined Apr 2009
5,725 Posts
On that R^2 property of moment of inertia, the nose being short compared to the wings and tailboom means that a long or short nose really doesn't change the moment of inertia all that much. Nose length does affect drag though, and wing airflow interference particularly in a sideslip.

Gerald
G_T is offline Find More Posts by G_T
Old Dec 06, 2013, 08:32 PM
Will fly for food
Bellevue WA,
Joined Dec 2003
6,853 Posts