SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio

The RC Truck FPV Project - Phase 1

Have you ever driven an RC truck using first person video? FPV from the driver's seat of a 1/10 scale truck is pretty amazing! Check out phase one of my FPV truck series.

Splash

Introduction

The video really shows you what an FPV truck is all about. Be sure to watch it!

The RC Truck FPV (First Person Video) Project - Phase 1 (7 min 46 sec)

Axial Wraith FPV
Axial Wraith FPV
RC Truck The Axial Wraith
Camera RC Logger Pro
Transmitter RC Logger
LCD Screen RC Logger
TX Antenna IBCrazy BlueBeam
Aluminum Roof AdvancedMetalFab

FPV from an RC truck is a ton of fun and relatively simple to do. This is phase one of my multi part series about turning your RC ground vehicle into a first person video vehicle.

While I'm new to FPV, I'm not new to RC ground vehicles. After putting together an FPV plane I happened to see a video from the driver's seat of an RC truck. I had to try it! The Axial Wraith was a natural choice because of all the aftermarket parts available for it. The RC Logger Pro camera is easy to fit into just about anything and is a rugged unit for FPV applications.

I have some ideas on how to customize this FPV rig even more but before we do that lets get into phase one of the FPV truck build.

The Truck - The Axial Wraith

You can put FPV components in anything as long as you have room and can carry the weight. I choose the Axial Wraith because this is a truck that everyone loves and there are a lot of aftermarket parts for it. In particular there are FPV parts available for it. Axial sent me the RTR Wraith. The only thing I needed was batteries for the truck and a TX. It is truly a plug-and-play vehicle.

The "WOW" factor is pretty high on this rig. The graphics are killer, the stance is tough and the LED lights put the cherry on top of the cake.

A Custom Roof