HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 11, 2001, 03:51 AM
Joined Dec 2001
204 Posts
New to R/C electric (R/C anything to be exact!)

I was wondering if any of you have any sugestions (books, sites, etc.) that would help me learn the electronics needed for this hobby.

What I mean to say is, when I start something new I like to learn as much as possible about all of it that I can. I have seen several postings on here about how to build your own ESC. What would I need to learn about that kind of electronic work? I have searched the internet and found a lot of info, but I don't want to learn how to fix a TV or computer ( I know that, I am a computer programmer) just enough electronics (practice, theory) that is used in electric flight.

Also any sugestions on GOOD tool to determine what moter/prop/ESC to use would be great also.

Thanks!

Sorry if this sounds a little naive to some of you, I am just starting out in this hobby.
jcatron is offline Find More Posts by jcatron
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 11, 2001, 04:19 AM
Outside of Dyer, Tn. USA
Joined May 2000
7,135 Posts
Welcome to E-Zone!! The FAQ location is here:
http://www.ezonemag.com/pages/efaq.htm

It has a lot of the info that you need to get started. A word of advice when you decide to start buying, get a Push-E-Cat or T-52 plane, both made out of foam and both hard to destroy. Also get someone to train you. I wasted several hundred dollars on smashed planes before I listened to the excellent advice that the folks here were giving me. Speed control info was listed here on a thread a couple of days ago.

Have fun and good luck!!
Don Sims is offline Find More Posts by Don Sims
Old Dec 11, 2001, 06:11 AM
N. Staffs, UK
Joined Jan 1997
5,654 Posts
It's quite possible to fly electric planes without any more electronics knowledge than how to plug things together. I would suggest you start by learning more about motors, batteries, charging etc in which case the FAQ is a good starting point.