SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 10, 2001, 10:21 AM
United States, VA, Warrenton
Joined Apr 2001
1,148 Posts
Experienced, but new to sailplanes: looking for slope/thermal plane; how to slope?

This post is similar to Squelch's. I've flown RC for a few years now, but I'm relatively new to sailplanes. I've only watched them in videos and from afar, but never flown one myself, unless you consider gliding a Zagi 400 to count.

I'm looking to get my first sailplane; while I plan to primarily thermal it, I would also like to try sloping too. That endless source of lift looks like a ton of fun. I bet I have a zillion hills here in the foothills that would be perfect, but I can't figure out what would be good and what wouldn't.

Anyway, I'm writing this post to ask two things: 1) Is there a good plane to start with that is a great thermaller and can also be sloped?
2) What might be the characteristics of a good hill to slope on? As I said above, I bet there are a ton in this area I could try on if I new what I was looking for. Would a Zagi 400 slope at all?

Thanks in advance.

-Dan Nash
Ninjak2k is offline Find More Posts by Ninjak2k
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2001, 10:46 AM
Ascended Master
Palmdale, CA
Joined Oct 2000
13,499 Posts
Zagi started out life as a sloper.. I recall flying one in '92 or '93..
Good slopers though don't make good thermallers.
A good thermaller will work well on the slope, OTOH.
A Gentle Lady is a good dual/triple purpose airplane.. any of the 2M gliders or electric gliders would slope nicely.
Sparky Paul is offline Find More Posts by Sparky Paul
Old Dec 10, 2001, 11:30 AM
slope'n the Colombian Andes
Colombia, Antioquia, Girardota
Joined Mar 2001
4,710 Posts
Dan, and also squelchF18,