HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 10, 2001, 01:22 AM
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,910 Posts
New Tiny almost ready to go.

My new Tiny is almost ready to go. Scratch built, and covered with Reynolds wrap using Balsarite. GWS-DXA motor with GWS 9x7 prop, Hitec Feather receiver, 2 HS-55 servos. Finished weight without the battery is 4.1 oz I'm waiting for a 8x300 mAh NiMh from Todd, which I think weighs 2 oz, so I will be a little heavy at 6.1 oz. I'm a pretty good builder, so I know the airframe is fairly light. I could shave .3 oz by using a GWS R4P receiver and 2 GWS Pico servos. And if I used a 8x120 pack at 1 oz, I'd be at 4.8 oz You guys who can build this at 4.1 oz with a 8x120 pack are quite good!

I am trying the carbon fiber landing gear from Todd Long. I sandwiched it between the motor mount and the CF tube. Hopefully that will stay. Only thing is, there is only about 1/4" prop clearance to the ground when sitting still. Hopefully it will hop off quickly without needing much flying of the tail. I should have mounted the landing gear to the bottom of the tube to get another 1/4" clearance. Oh well.

Photo1 - I never knew Reynolds wrap came in 8 colors!
Photo2 - Motor mount, ready to assemble.
Photo3 - Closeup of Todd's landing gear.
Photo4 - Closeup of finished front end.

PS - if you don't have CF thread, then use cotton thread. I tried a polyester thread and the CA would not stick to it. The CA loved the cotton thread.

Happy Flying,
Derek
DerekB is offline Find More Posts by DerekB
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2001, 01:24 AM
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,910 Posts
Re: New Tiny almost ready to go.

Quote:
Originally posted by DerekB
Photo2 - Motor mount, ready to assemble.
Old Dec 10, 2001, 01:26 AM
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,910 Posts
Re: Re: New Tiny almost ready to go.

Quote:
Photo3 - Closeup of Todd Long's landing gear
Old Dec 10, 2001, 01:27 AM
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,910 Posts