HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 15, 2004, 10:31 PM
Joined Feb 2004
3 Posts
Need advice for a college prototype project using Ducted Fans...

I'm a college student working on a seinor project involving ducted fans. My project is getting a set (4) of ducted fans to levitate a platform. I'm not worried about powering them because my project will be teathered for power.

I don't know much about these fans, so this is where I need your advice. We've done a test with one ducted fan that we got a hold of, and we are sure that the fan will thrust a platform in the air.. the problem is balancing it so it stays stationary.

We plan on using 4 ducted fans layed out in a square formation. Each pair of fans NEED to spin opposite directions to counter blanace the torque produced by each fan. This will keep our platform from spinning. We'll be doing our balancing control by with a microcontroler and accelerometers. This will in turn control the servo's for each of the fan motors.

What we need advice on is what fans and motors to use. Keep in mind we're on a limited budget and time frame (5 weeks to gather our parts). We need ducted fans that can spin in either direction (so they can counter torque each other). We're hoping to find something at around $400 US for all 4 fans/motors. Our main problem is finding fans that can have the propeller reversed so they can spin in either direction.

Please help us in finding our fan/motor combo's. We need brands, models anything that will point us to right direction. We'll post updates of our project as we develop it.

-Michael
XiiiXiii is offline Find More Posts by XiiiXiii
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2004, 11:47 PM
runga-kutter
Joined Nov 2003
67 Posts
Hey Michael, what college?

how much weight does the platform have to support?

in reading your post, using servos to control motors sounds like something glow-powered, so maybe you will get more replies in the glow section.