HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 26, 2013, 08:31 PM
Joined Aug 2013
13 Posts
Discussion
Help With RC Boats Basics

Hi there, and thank you so much for helping me out.
I am new to RC boats and RC equipment in general. But I am interested in building a custom RC boat from scratch. Now there are a few troubles I am running into. The first one is water. I already have a good idea on how to seal the top part of the boat(the hatch), but how does water not come in the back of the boat where the propeller is at. The hole where that metal thing ( don't know what it is called) connects to the propeller to make it spin. I don't understand how to seal that off. I have Turnigy batteries and a Turnigy aquatic motor. I know the motor can take alittle water, but I rather minimize the amount of water that comes in through the back. Please inform me of any guides or what that part is called to block it.

I appreciate it!
bweezy90 is offline Find More Posts by bweezy90
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 26, 2013, 08:49 PM
Cheif Bottlewasher
Canada, NS, Sydney Mines
Joined Sep 2005
3,181 Posts
Hi.
Its called a stuffing tube,
They come in various lengths,and shaft diameter, it has a bearong on each end and it get filled with grease.
A little figuring on your part to get a length and a shaft threaded to fit your propeller
for a look see , you can visit Dumas Boats ,Mack Products .. for better look and get dialed in

You will need a shaft coupler, or a universal joint to connect the motor to the shaft.
this will be some more figuring on your part to get the motor aligned as close to the shaft as possiable.

It would be handy to have some pictures of your hull if you have it completed ,what ever you have.. drawings even ..
This will help with getting you sorted out properly.
more coffee is offline Find More Posts by more coffee
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Hi!
Old Aug 26, 2013, 11:21 PM
Joined Aug 2013
13 Posts