HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 03, 2013, 02:21 PM
Joined Aug 2013
3 Posts
Discussion
Crystal change RC boat

Complete newbie here folks, here's the situation,

Recently went to Turkey, and whilst in a town bought my son an RC boat in a toy shop. Now having returned home to England, we discovered it does not work. Returning it is obviously not an option, and don't really want to chuck 40 down the drain.

Having examined it, I have found the handset has a sticker of 49MHz on it and the sticker on the inside of the boat has 27MHz on it. Now when I touch the antenna on the metal of the propellers and move the control it works, so it seems to be they have mismatched crystals, stopping the radio control working.

I have now taken the handset apart and found the 49MHz crystal, and after taking the board on the boat apart I cannot identify the crystal on the board, does anyone recognise any of these that would be the crystal? I am planning to buy a new pair of crystals and re solder them on to the existing crystals positions, providing I can identify the boat crystal.

Picture of the boat board:

Thanks for any help guys
scottyearl is offline Find More Posts by scottyearl
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 03, 2013, 06:25 PM
SantaAna CA
Joined Aug 2003
316 Posts
Nothing looks like any crystal used in RC equipment.
However, you can not replace a 27 MHz crystal with one on 49 MHz in either a transmitter or receiver. They are designed for a certain band and sometimes will accept a crystal in the same band. Sometimes though, they require retuning to work properly.
Also crystal for one brand of equipment will seldom work in equipment of another brand
EloyM is offline Find More Posts by EloyM
Old Aug 03, 2013, 11:01 PM
Resistance is futile
United States, FL, Wildwood
Joined Jul 2005
1,122 Posts