SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jul 24, 2013, 04:23 PM
Sydney Australia
Joined Jul 2008
222 Posts
Question
Suitable radio

I have just completed two submarines.The Dumas Akula and converted the Revell 1/72 Type VII.Up to now I have been operating them in my local pond on the aircraft band of 36 mhz. This was done due to the fact that I could not find a three channel radio on 27mhz. I finally found two suitable radios on 27mhz removed from a couple of ready to run sail boats.
I have opened up the Akula and replaced the 36 mhz receiver with the 27 mhz.However since doing that the speed controller worked ok but then became intermittent with failure of both the motor and BEC output and has now completely failed.
My question is, after that long drawn out explanation,can there be a compatibility problem with some older receivers and the newer speed controllers or could it be just coincidence that the speed controller failed ?
I have some knowledge in electronics but cannot understand why this happened and don't want to go swimming again to rescue my sub( it's winter down here).
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
fly4fun6719 is offline Find More Posts by fly4fun6719
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 24, 2013, 05:47 PM
Submarines, etc.
Arvada, Colorado
Joined May 2005
1,595 Posts
without knowing anything about the receiver or the speed controller, i can only guess that there is no direct correlation between the replacement of one and the death of the other. however, weirder things have happened. check and make sure the voltage/amperage from the BEC is/was compatible with the 27mhz receiver, maybe it was drawing too many amps and overloaded the BEC. if that was the case, use of an external battery for the receiver would fix that for the next speed controller.
tsenecal is offline Find More Posts by tsenecal
Old Jul 24, 2013, 05:58 PM
Mesa Falcon Fld, Arizona, United States
Joined Sep 2004
426 Posts