HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 04, 2001, 05:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
Modelair-Tech Tumblewatt

Hi,

has anyone infos on the modelair-tech lightweight Funflyer "Tumblewatt".

http://www.modelairtech.com/stik.html#tumblewatt

Which flight times are possible with 500 Nicad? at mixed speeds?(not only full throttle)

and which manoveures? loops, rolls? whatelse?




please visit my homepage if you like

Michael
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2001, 05:52 PM
Tork it or Dork it
Ryan Nau's Avatar
Elizabethville,PA USA
Joined Jul 2000
2,198 Posts
I have a tumblewatt and really really like it. They fly great. Only thing i did different was make the wing to 31 inches. I usually fly my tumblewatt wide open all the time with a 6v400, 5x4 prop, and 8x600ae and get about 3 minutes of areobatic flying. The tumblewatt can do anything a three channel can do. rolling circles, outside/inside loops, cuban eights, tumbles, etc? It can fly in a very, very small area. I already flew my indoors with no problem at about half throttle. Took about a week to built start to finish.
Ryan
Ryan Nau is offline Find More Posts by Ryan Nau
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2001, 06:29 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
ohh thanks for your reply

hope Iīll get mine this week

some more questions:

Can it fly "slow" as well?

did you try Nimh cells as well?

which servos did you use? 9gramms?

why did you make the wing to 31inch? any advantages?

thanks a lot

michael


sorry for my englisch ;o)
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2001, 07:45 PM
Tork it or Dork it
Ryan Nau's Avatar
Elizabethville,PA USA
Joined Jul 2000
2,198 Posts
The slowest it will fly in calm winds is a little faster then walking speed. When there is stong winds it can stand still. I have tried 8x1000nimh, but i didn't like it in this plane because it didn't have enough of power. I use the hitec 81 serovs in my tumblewatt. They seem to work good in it.
I had another tumblewatt that I have sold that has the stock 26 inch wing. It flew good, but my new bigger wing tumblewatt flies a lot better. The bigger wing makes it glide better, loops better, rolls better with the longer ailerons, just all better!
Ryan
Ryan Nau is offline Find More Posts by Ryan Nau
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2001, 12:41 AM
Motors beat engines!
Milwaukee Wisconsin, United States
Joined Feb 2001
4,564 Posts
After destroying my first tumblewatt, I made a foamie copy that also went to the 31 wing. It just flys better with the span increase, and landing is way easier as it actually glides now.

For power, I prefer geared setups and liked the rocket 400 geared 3:1 with a 7x7 apc prop on 8 600ae cells the best as it produced the best speed without killing run time.

The best climb was the same combo except a 9x6 apc slowfly prop.

VERY steep climb with the 9x6, but amp draw is higher so throttle back when you are'nt actually needing the power to extend run times.

Excellent plane.
DeaninMilwaukee is offline Find More Posts by DeaninMilwaukee
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2001, 10:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
ok .... i will build it with a 31inch wing ....
and direct drive(cheaper for the beginning) with 8 cells

now iīm still waiting for the kit.....maybe tomorrow or on friday


michael
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2001, 10:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
i will make some pictures with my webcam if you like
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 10:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
just got the "large sized" kit


the plans look fine...and i think the structure needs one day to build
(unfortunatly i donīt have a battery pack yet)

just another questions....how did you fix the battery pack under the planked "deck" inside ??

and did you leave the space open where the battery is put in the plane? or did you close it by something?

which speed controller do you use?

i have a simprop controller here its for 8 cells but only 7Amps(15A short time)
but its very light (5gramm)

i also have a robbe 6-10cells and 18A, but i think it weights too much


bye

michael
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Last edited by misi; Dec 07, 2001 at 10:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 10:37 AM
Registered User
Paris, France
Joined Mar 2000
120 Posts
Hi Michael,
I use trusty and cheap Kontronik Rondos 400 for most of my speed 400 stuff, including modelairtech designs (Elipstik 460 and F117).
It works fine with a 4.9*4.3 gunther prop and 7 to 8 cells.
Regards
Thierry
Thierry F is offline Find More Posts by Thierry F
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 10:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
i thought about kontroniks as well, really cheap and made in germany....i think i will have to buy another new kontronik rondo ;o)
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 10:59 AM
Registered User
Paris, France
Joined Mar 2000
120 Posts
You could also give the SUN4001 a try.
It's a very versatile, light (25g) and low cost 'made in germany' ESC. Excellent value.
I do appreciate all my Kontronik stuff including brushless setups.
What about a FUN400-23 in your Thumblewatt ???
Regards
Thierry
Thierry F is offline Find More Posts by Thierry F
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 11:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
or a hacker brushless

but with brushless you have to be carefull with

i will try a cheap setup first, as i do in my model boats
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 12:16 PM
Tork it or Dork it
Ryan Nau's Avatar
Elizabethville,PA USA
Joined Jul 2000
2,198 Posts
For the battery pack question for the tumblewatt, I have my battery pack ( 8x600ae) pushed up to the motor and it extends back to the wing. On the bottom of the fusluge where the battery lays it is a good idea to sheet the bottom with thin balsa. Then when you land the stick won't break out on the bottom from your battery pack. I also did that where the reciever goes. I have a Great planes 20 amp speed control in mine. I have a small bay on the bottom of the fusluge open so I can plug my battery in and remove it if I want. Its 3 inches long.
Ryan Nau is offline Find More Posts by Ryan Nau
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2001, 03:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
ryan you mean, that i should make some sticks near the bottom of the plane in case the landing is harder ...the extra sticks will break and not the fuselage? right ?
(sorry its not always easy to understand english specially technical stuff......but theres hope

wouldnīt it be a good idea as well to put some sticks as shown in the construction plans under the servo.....and use 2 rubber bands to fix the cells.....that would be also a could bumper if the landing isnīt soo good

donīt you think?

michael
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Last edited by misi; Dec 07, 2001 at 03:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 08, 2001, 04:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2001
334 Posts
one more question:

what happens if the plane has a harder landing or "crashes"...will it break or be damaged??
misi is offline Find More Posts by misi
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modelair-tech F-117 Nightstick knight of Ni Parkflyers 16 May 20, 2008 07:58 PM
New Modelair-tech Model Tom Hunt Sport Planes 18 Aug 30, 2003 12:43 PM
Has anyone built the Modelair-Tech Soarwatt Dandi6065 Electric Sailplanes 13 May 25, 2002 10:59 AM
ModelAir-Tech Planes? Rob R Sport Planes 12 Apr 28, 2002 05:31 PM
Modelair-Tech Aviron Vendor Talk 0 Sep 17, 2001 02:37 AM